RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

233 Users Online (99 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 4:52:57 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#1

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I have a customer in Italy who uses Solidedge and wants to see our 3D model.

I sent them the .RVT file, and they cant do anything with it.

They said they can open the following file formats:

·         STL

·         IGES 3-D

·         STEP (.stp)

·         MDS

·         EMS2Part

·         Parasolid (.x_t)

·         UG (.prt)

·         Pro/ENGINEER (.prt)

·         ACIS (.sat)

·         I-DEAS (.plmxpk)

·         Catia (.model)

·         Catia V5

·         SolidWorks (.sldprtand .sldasm)

·         JT Documents (.jt)

·         PKG

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.  If it can be saved into any of these, please let me know the general process for the conversion.  If it cant, I would like to know that as well.

 

Alternatively, is there any way to open up the .RVT file in another program, like Navisworks, then save it from there to one of the above files?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 7:30:30 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Export to ACIS (SAT)



Attached Images

100815_sat.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 7:38:47 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#3

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks, but how?  I cant seem to find that option within Revit.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 7:41:44 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Did you try reading your HELP?

 

Even easier - did you look at the image Typhoon posted?



Edited on: Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 1:43:05 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 7:42:54 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Watch my image....


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 7:52:33 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#6

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Im sorry, The image file wasnt uploaded yet when I replied.  and YES, I did go thru the help and couldnt find it.  I know you claim it is great, the help section, but I find it difficult and usually of no help.  I dont know if MEP help is any different than Arch help.  Anyway, I will look at the image, thanks!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 8:00:33 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#7

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Thank you and that helped.

Since I dont know what a .sat file actually is, I am not sure that when I make it, does it give me only the exact view that I see, like if it was exported as an autocad file, or does it make it a 3D file of the image?  If it is a flat image with no 3d, I may need to make mutiple .sat files to show exactly whats going on.  Can someone tell me which way it is?  Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 8:59:53 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Too hard!



Attached Images

100829_ScreenHunter04_Dec._15_15.58.gif100829_ScreenHunter03_Dec._15_15.55.gif

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 9:08:53 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#9

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I really do appreciate all your help.  What I use for help is the search feature at the top of the Revit screen in MEP 2012, where it says "type a keyword or phrase".  I type ACIS, and you can see the by the image what it found.  The first one says importing.  Nothing at all in the top 10 says anything about exporting, and a few in the top 10 are in other languages.  This is why I say it is difficult.



Attached Images

100832_revit2012help.gif

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 9:13:53 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I see.... We don't use wiki-help because our mcafee filter has to check everything and it just takes too long. Now I have another reson not to use them.

 

Revit is provided with HELP files that you have installed and you can set your pointer to just use those.  I believe you will find this much better and faster.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 9:21:40 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#11

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Your probably right!  There is also a button for Help next to the search bar, but again, it takes me to the Autodesk Wikipedia.  If I press the F1 key, again it goes to Wiki.  If I have a help that is on my computer, I do not know of it or how to get to it.

 

If I could customize Revit so my help points to a computer based help, that would be very nice.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 9:43:04 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Find your Revit .ini file in your C drive program area.

 

Search down through this file and you should find something like this:

..............................

UseHelpServer=0  << SET TO 0

.................. and this...................

[ContentInstalled]IES.cab=I:\RevitDFS\REVIT2011\Content\IESNAImperialTempl.cab=I:\RevitDFS\REVIT2011\Content\Imperial Templates\NAImperial.cab=I:\RevitDFS\REVIT2011\Content\Imperial Library\ENUSetupDocs.cab=C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit Architecture 2011\Program\SamplesRAC.cab=C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit Architecture 2011\Program\ENUHelp.cab=C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit Architecture 2011\Program\[Messages]  << This line should be in there and this should be the path to your installed HELP


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 9:58:47 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#13

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Ok, I found the .ini file.  My setting is to 1, I can change that to 0.  However the other stuff is not there.  There is no .cab, or anything with "Content" or ENUHELP.  Below is the whole context of the .ini file.  Maybe it has changed for 2012 or for MEP?

[Revit.ini][Colors]HiLiteColor=255PreHiLiteColor=8729206ErrorColor=33023CustomColor1=000000CustomColor2=ff0000CustomColor3=ffff00CustomColor4=00ff00CustomColor5=00ffffCustomColor6=0000ffCustomColor7=ff00ffCustomColor8=8c008cCustomColor9=ffffffCustomColor10=ff9191CustomColor11=ffff64CustomColor12=9bff9bCustomColor13=ffffffCustomColor14=7171ffCustomColor15=ff4fffCustomColor16=ffffff[Directories]FamilyTemplatePath=..\..\..\..\ProgramData\Autodesk\RME 2012\Family Templates\English_IDataLibraryLocations=Imperial Library=C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\RME 2012\Libraries\US Imperial\,Imperial Detail Library=C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\RME 2012\Libraries\US Imperial\Detail ComponentsProjectPath=C:\Revit LocalImportLineweightsNameDWG=C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit MEP 2012\Data\importlineweights-dwg-default.txtMaterialLibraryFiles=..\Data\RenderingIESFileLocation=C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\RME 2012\IES\LookupTableLocation=C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\RME 2012\Lookup Tables\DefaultTemplate=..\..\..\..\ProgramData\Autodesk\RME 2012\Templates\US Imperial\Electrical-Default.rteRootPathForPointClouds=C:\Users\CK2 user\Documents\PointCloudsExportLayersNameDGN=..\..\..\..\ProgramData\Autodesk\RME 2012\exportlayers-dwg-AIA.txt[Language]Select=ENU[Applications]Mechanical=1Electrical=1Architectural=0Structural=0[InstallationSettings]Country=USALanguage=ENUUsage=Mechanical[Install]HostName=CK2InstallGUID={0D4CF2F6-0F42-453A-A269-006B3D9A694A}Update=Documentation|OnlineHelpServerReinstallGUID={8AC8D83F-880B-4183-AD41-F478A3591D25}[ContentSearch]Site=http://seek.autodesk.comPublishURL=http://revitseekstore.autodesk.com[Documentation]UseHelpServer=1HelpBrowser=1OnlineHelpServer=http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/ENU[Messages]SPLWCount=0AdlmCheckoutBefore=1SuppressShowButtonMessage=0SuppressForceRasterPrintingWarning=0[Windows]Maximized=0[Partitions]Username=CK2 userWorksharingDisplayFrequency=5[Spelling]OptionFlagsSSCE=18[Graphics]TempDimFontSizeInPoints=16InvertBackground=0Antialiasing=0SemiTransparent=1UseGraphicsHardware=0[UserInterface]DisplayRecentFilesPage=1[AppFrame]Theme=1[ACMSettings]ACMOnNetwork=1ACMNetworkPort=14931[AutoCam]SteeringWheelShowHUDMessages=1SteeringWheelShowTooltips=1SteeringWheelShowToolCursorText=1BigSteeringWheelSize=1BigSteeringWheelOpacity=1MiniSteeringWheelSize=1MiniSteeringWheelOpacity=1SteeringWheelInvertVerticalAxis=0SteeringWheelConstrainWalkAngleToGround=1SteeringWheelSpeedFactor=30SteeringWheelEnableIncrementalZoomIn=0SteeringWheelKeepSceneUpright=1ViewCubePosition=0ViewCubeOpacity=2ViewCubeSize=4ViewCubeSnapToClosestView=1ViewCubeFitToView=1ViewCubeUseAnimatedTransition=1ViewCubeKeepSceneUpright=1ShowViewCube=1NavBarActiveWheel=6[VSTA]AppSecurity=0DocSecurity=0[Backups]SaveToCentralReminderMinutes=240[Manage Links]RevitLinks=6CADFormats=0DWFMarkups=0RevitLinksSortDirection=0CADFormatsSortDirection=0DWFMarkupsSortDirection=0[CommonDialog]FileOpenView=4[Recent File List]File1=C:\4921 Revit Local\4921-CK2user.rvtFile2=J:\cc\4666.01\4666-TEMTROL-6.rvtFile3=J:\cc\4921\box.rfaFile4=J:\RME 2009\Imperial Library\Pipe\Fittings\Elbows\Pipe Elbow.rfaFile5=J:\Revit files and downloads\Eemax\Water_Heater-Electric-Eemax-AccuMix-MT.rfaFile6=J:\Revit files and downloads\Eemax\Water_Heater-Electric-Eemax-AccuMix-MB.rfaFile7=J:\cc\4921\211072-Furniture Link.rvtFile8=J:\cc\4666.01\GE mezzanine2.rvtFile9=C:\4943 Revit Local\4943-CK2user-2012.rvtFile10=J:\cc\4943\Titleblock, 30x42.rfaFile11=J:\cc\4921\4921-Central-Share2.rvtFile12=J:\cc\4943\4943-Central-2012.rvtFile13=J:\cc\4921\211072A - Mt.Prospect ATP_Upload Model-2011-10-20.rvtFile14=\\ck\share2\cc\4943\4943-Central-2012.rvtFile15=J:\cc\4943\4636-CK1USER-2009.rte[Recent Workset List]Config1=AllConfig2=AllConfig3=AllConfig7=AllConfig9=AllConfig10=AllConfig11=AllConfig12=AllConfig13=AllConfig14=AllConfig15=All


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 10:07:45 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


My post was for 2011.  For 2012, my IT guy says it is a simple switch setting during the install.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 10:14:14 PM | Can Revit save a file for use in SolidEdge OR any of these file formats?

#15

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Ok, welll how about AFTER the install?  I would assume then that the next reelease may be similar and so I need to find out how to install the help in 2013 whenever that comes out.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

can't save as a central file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 7:35:47 PM

2

Help! How to save a template file as an rvt file?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 21, 2008 at 4:27:01 AM

2

Save an existing project file as a template file

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Oct 26, 2009 at 6:11:47 PM

0

how to convert a template to project file in 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 2, 2013 at 7:58:22 AM

10

Compact file during Save As

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 3:29:18 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1652071

Objects:

22102

Forum Posts:

151694

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3541

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights