RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

36 Users Online (35 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Dec 11, 2011 at 9:25:45 AM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#1

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


http://youtu.be/07GXfzCGijM

How is it possible that I place an aligned dimension between two paralel grids and the dimensions changes as I drag it up and down? First of all, in order to be able to place an aligned dimensions the objects have to be absolutely paralel to each other, so I don't get why when I move the dimension it changes. If the grids were really not paralel to each other Revit shouldn't allow me to place the aligned dimension in the first place, isn't that right?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 7:07:15 AM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


Revit will not do this for parallel objects.  But you can use an aligned dimension to "points" and that is what I believe you have done.  To select a point instead of a line, you use the tab key.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 7:12:45 AM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#3

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Yes, I know you use the tab key to select a point but that is not what I'm doing in that instance. I even tried islating only those two grids (which I am not showing in the video actually) and dimensioning explicitly between them and AGAIN I got this weird problem...


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 7:59:06 AM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


What are your dimension units and rounding?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 9:27:16 AM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#5

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Everything is pretty normal with my units. The same problem occured later on again with some more grids and my workaround this is to align them to each other and them space them again as desired. Nevermind that, the issue in the video is pretty weird.

Project Units:

Discipline Common

Length Format Millimiters

Rounding 3 Decimal Places

Unit symbol None

Suppress trailing 0's Checked

See attachment if necessary. Nothing unusual. The problem doesn't occur with anything else though. Just with grids and it happened just a few times. Just don't get why it even happened.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 11:31:06 AM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


I did watch the vid and that is strange.  Maybe the program is corrupted.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 11:54:40 AM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#7

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Well the clip doesn't show anything else than what I initially described. And about being corrupt... well, it's licensed as a student version, so I think it's legal enough. Anyway, we'd better drop all this as it's doesn't matter anymore and is a problem that doesn't have a logical explanation...


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:33:13 PM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


Very wierd, I never saw nothing like that, did you installed the Web Update for 2012?


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:39:45 PM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#9

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Very weird indeed. The impossible seemed possible.

Ermm, Web update? What do you mean by Web? I currently have the latest Update 2 for Revit and the Build is 20110916_2132(x64) Update Release 2.

Is there anything newer out there? Have I missed something? If so, please share a link.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:43:41 PM | Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

#10

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


"the Build is 20110916_2132(x64) Update Release 2." - that's the latest update.


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Aligned dimensions on non-orthogonal walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jun 11, 2006 at 8:16:11 PM

2

Aligned dimensions for centering curtain wall door

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 6:26:40 AM

4

aligned acting like linear (up-down, left-right)

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Dec 6, 2011 at 4:00:40 PM

4

Aligned dimensions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 12, 2006 at 3:22:31 PM

1

Ctril and Shift not working

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 12:52:49 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1963745

Objects:

22850

Forum Posts:

152159

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4706

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights