RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

196 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> RAC 2012x64 on AMD Radeon HD 6770M - AMD PowerPlay feature vs Revit Hardware Acc

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Dec 11, 2011 at 4:36:22 AM | RAC 2012x64 on AMD Radeon HD 6770M - AMD PowerPlay feature vs Revit Hardware Acc

#1

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


HP Pavilion dv7-6b76eoi7 2670QM 2.2 GH, 6MB L3 CacheChipset - Intel HM65 Express1TB SATA 5400RPM8GB RAM DDR3 1333MhzSwitchable Graphics between: 

The on-board Intel® HD Graphics 3000, which is just for power-saving purposes

and the discrete GPU, which is meant for things like Revit - AMD Radeon HD 6770M 2gb GDDR5

I am running Revit Architecture 2012 x64.

The GPU has a feature called PowerPlay (hereinafter PP). It's a pretty annoying feature as it causes my notebook to experience Black Screen of Death and to freeze now and then while watching movies or while in a video call. So I just disabled the feature and the problems seemed to have gone away until I started up Revit and eventually found out it was unable to utilize Hardware Acceleration, thus it worked crappy. Once I enabled PowerPlay again Revit worked smooth again cos it was obviously taking advantage of Hardware Acceleration (hereinafter HA). Up until that moment I hadn't changed anything in Revit and it was by default having HA turned on. So the possible combinations I got are as follows:

PP enabled + Revit HA enabled = Revit working smoothPP enabled + Revit HA disabled = Revit working smooth (somehow? though disabling HC would make it work bad)

PP disabled + Revit HA enabled = Revit working really bad (???)PP disabled + Revit HA disabled = Revit working smooth (???)

So does this make any sense to anyone? Could anyone explain how enabling and disabling HA affects Revit, because what I expected was that disabling it would make Revit work bad, but apparently it didn't. How is Revit able to work smooth when I turned off HA? I though HA means that the hardware boosts up the performance of the software, What happens in the case when HA is disabled and why does it not have any negative effect in my case?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 11, 2011 at 4:43:17 AM | RAC 2012x64 on AMD Radeon HD 6770M - AMD PowerPlay feature vs Revit Hardware Acc

#2

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


 

Sorry! Shift+Enter apparently didn’t work well.

 

HP Pavilion dv7-6b76eo

i7 2670QM 2.2 GH, 6MB L3 Cache

Chipset - Intel HM65 Express

1TB SATA 5400RPM

8GB RAM DDR3 1333Mhz

 

Switchable Graphics between: 

The on-board Intel® HD Graphics 3000, which is just for power-saving purposes

and the discrete GPU, which is meant for things like Revit - AMD Radeon HD 6770M 2gb GDDR5

 

I am running Revit Architecture 2012 x64. The GPU has a feature called PowerPlay (hereinafter PP). It's a pretty annoying feature as it causes my notebook to experience Black Screen of Death and to freeze now and then while watching movies or while in a video call. So I just disabled the feature and the problems seemed to have gone away until I started up Revit and eventually found out it was unable to utilize Hardware Acceleration, thus it worked crappy. Once I enabled PowerPlay again Revit worked smooth again cos it was obviously taking advantage of Hardware Acceleration (hereinafter HA). Up until that moment I hadn't changed anything in Revit and it was by default having HA turned on. So the possible combinations I got are as follows:

PP enabled + Revit HA enabled = Revit working smooth

PP enabled + Revit HA disabled = Revit working smooth (somehow? though disabling HC would make it work bad)

PP disabled + Revit HA enabled = Revit working really bad (???)

PP disabled + Revit HA disabled = Revit working smooth (???)

 

So does this make any sense to anyone? Could anyone explain how enabling and disabling HA affects Revit, because what I expected was that disabling it would make Revit work bad, but apparently it didn't. How is Revit able to work smooth when I turned off HA? I though HA means that the hardware boosts up the performance of the software, What happens in the case when HA is disabled and why does it not have any negative effect in my case?

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 11, 2011 at 2:05:45 PM | RAC 2012x64 on AMD Radeon HD 6770M - AMD PowerPlay feature vs Revit Hardware Acc

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


I dont know alot about effects of HA. But Revit should basically run fine if HA is on or off. Depending on your graphics card you should get better performace if HA is on when working in 3d with large models. there are certain Revit features like Photo Realistic display that only work when Ha is on.


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:48:31 PM | RAC 2012x64 on AMD Radeon HD 6770M - AMD PowerPlay feature vs Revit Hardware Acc

#4

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Thanks! It seems, though, that it works just fine for me even in 3D, even in Realistic type view.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

AMD DUAL CORE V INTEL DUAL CORE PROCESSORS [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 25, 2006 at 8:00:11 AM

15

NVIDIA GeForce 5600 128MB DDR VS ATI RADEON 9800 PRO ATLANTIS 128MB DDR

Community >> The Studio

Sat, May 8, 2010 at 11:31:08 PM

2

Hardware for Revit

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 12:31:43 PM

3

Curtain Wall Mullion Profile Does Not Display When Cut in a Segmented Section

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Sep 28, 2012 at 4:11:19 PM

4

Cache memory Revit 2013

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 8:31:15 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1781296

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151953

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.4601

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights