RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

312 Users Online (170 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Can't Cut It!!!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Nov 21, 2011 at 7:39:32 PM | Can't Cut It!!!

#1

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


This is what I did:1) Went into  Mass Family (to start a new mass)2) created a sphere3) created a rectangular cube that covers the bottom 2/3 of the sphere (so that you see only the top 1/3 of the sphere popping out of the top cube face)Goal:  To cut the sphere so that I am left ONLY with the top 1/3 sphere, i.e. the rectangular cube is gone (and took away the bottom 2/3 of the sphere with it).I have tried the Cut Geometry function but doesn't seem to work. Or I'm doing something wrong. Please help.Many thanksDeeply appreciated.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 21, 2011 at 7:42:49 PM | Can't Cut It!!!

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


Yes, what you are doing wrong is your not thinking Revit.

First - do you really want a mass?  I build with walls - roof - floors.  Revit does too and in most cases, you should think that way so mass is not the first thing to think of.

 

Second - just use a revolve that is part of an arc.  No need to cut geometry.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 21, 2011 at 7:49:24 PM | Can't Cut It!!!

#3

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your response.

Sometimes I need to start with a geometric mass in order to get a certain shape, and then from there make the architecture out of it. iI cannot do that if I just start with floors and walls. Like a multi-curved roof or some unusual wall. And by the way, it's fine to think mass with revit because revit can support that kind of thinking. I just need to know how to work with the massing families. In fact it is one of the key items in the advanced revit courses.

Many thanks for your input.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 21, 2011 at 8:10:56 PM | Can't Cut It!!!

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Just a question: did you know you have parameters to create your sphere like you want and don't need to CUT that with a void?

 

 



Attached Images

99909_sphere.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can't make a Two Cut - Square rafter cut on a roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 15, 2011 at 12:20:30 AM

4

How to show a 'diagonal cross' when you cut timber beam/plate?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 23, 2019 at 1:29:42 PM

5

5'8" wall will not be cut by cutplane

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 13, 2017 at 9:49:59 PM

1

Demo Windows 'do not' cut into Walls.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 6, 2011 at 5:25:32 PM

0

cut plane for stairway representation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:02:35 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1457519

Objects:

20593

Forum Posts:

150680

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6633

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights