RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

431 Users Online (273 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> Consultant drawings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 7:06:56 PM | Consultant drawings

#1

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


In the office I work at we need to get drawings from outside consultants into our set. We get drawings from the consultants and in the past we have simply xrefed their .dwg into one of ours, then set up a sheet with only their drawing on it. The problem I'm running into with Revit is too much information is lost when importing the dwgs. Cleaning up the .dwgs so they will import without losing anything isn't feasable, and the consultants are not going to change their drafting standards (and I don't really want to ask them to do that anyway). I've tried using an image printer to convert the .dwg to a .png that I drop on a sheet, and while it looks fine it doesn't print well (10 minutes or so per sheet when making PDFs). What I need is to get a consultant sheet on my sheet without losing any information (scale doesn't matter here).

 

Since a .dwg or raster image isnt' really working, does anyone have any suggestions?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 7:10:07 PM | Consultant drawings

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 327 Votes


I don't understand.  Why not just print their DWG's?  You can add dummy sheets if you need them in your schedule.

 

We have our consultants provide both DWG's and print ready PDF's.  Then if we want a combined PDF, we just combine their PDF's into our set.



Edited on: Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 2:11:48 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 7:52:53 PM | Consultant drawings

#3

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


I would, but I need a sheet with our titleblock with their drawing inset into it (I don't know why, I haven't received a good explanation but my bosses aren't budging on this one). I could make a dummy sheet and export a .dwg of our titleblock and do everything in ACAD, but 1) getting Revit and ACAD to plot exactly the same has been a bit of an issue, and 2) I'd like to do everything in Revit if at all possible.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 7:58:38 PM | Consultant drawings

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 327 Votes


I don't see a good way.  We give our consultants a CAD ready titleblock when required.

 

I don't think your plotting will get any better.  Plotting a CAD import will be just as bad as trying to plot from CAD.  And I don't think that is our responsibility.  It's our consultant's responsibility to produce their documents to our plot standards.  That's why they produce the plot ready PDF.

 

GOOD LUCK


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 8:06:30 PM | Consultant drawings

#5

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


There's a thought. Never occured to me to send them a TB. I'll run that by my superiors, see what they say. Thank you for your help.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 20, 2011 at 4:21:00 AM | Consultant drawings

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 90 Votes


Alternatively if you can't get them to do that (which is what we do), just edit the DWG and swap out the titleblock in AutoCAD yourself, with your own...  But realistically you shouldn't be doing this.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Seeking Typical Cost of BIM Consultant

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Wed, Aug 3, 2011 at 5:16:16 PM

6

Consultant Addresses on the Coversheet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:40:47 PM

8

Revit 2014 Consultant Model Issuance

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 6, 2014 at 3:40:43 PM

4

Detail tag to reference consultant files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 17, 2007 at 10:22:09 PM

1

Project coordination

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Jun 30, 2006 at 9:26:48 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1194035

Objects:

19489

Forum Posts:

149418

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1508

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights