RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

254 Users Online (106 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 4:03:09 AM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#1

BlueFairy


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 13, 2010
87 Posts
No Rating


I'm thinking of getting the latest Macbook pro with Fusion or Parallels to install Revit architecture.  Is this a good idea for this program or not?  I've done book camp before and didnt like it.  

Is my only option to go in yet with another pc that gets viruses and malfunctions on me... and no genious bar ?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 6:23:48 AM | BlueFairy

#2

vector4



vector4 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
82 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Quoting BlueFairy from 2011-10-13 23:03:09

 Is this a good idea for this program or not?

 

very bad idea.. revit was built to run on windows.. there is a reason why 95% of all computer users are using windows 7.. viruses and malfunctions are in the imaginations of those 5%- i've never had a problem with windows 7..


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 5:39:41 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#3

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I know of large offices using mac pro workstations for all their Revit work using parallels if I remember correctly and they love it. Check out Bim9, I think they may even have a better solution.

 

www.bim9.com


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Oct 15, 2011 at 10:26:40 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#4

vector4



vector4 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
82 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


BlueFairy- sorry that wasn't a politically correct answer- but i keep forgetting how many people hate truth..


This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 15, 2011 at 11:12:55 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#5

BlueFairy


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 13, 2010
87 Posts
No Rating


Vector4,

I appreciated your honest answer.  Some people are willing to believe in hype more than just looking at the reality of the situation.  Since I am not a computer person, I am looking for honest answers to make a decision on which direction to go.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 15, 2011 at 11:38:46 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#6

vector4



vector4 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
82 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


BlueFairy- great then- you've come to the right place- i'm a computer person..


This user is offline

 

Sun, Oct 16, 2011 at 7:05:57 AM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#7

vector4



vector4 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
82 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


whoever pulled me down to four boxes instead of five- that does look better thank you.. but i really am doing the best i can..


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 17, 2011 at 8:12:03 AM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#8

vector4



vector4 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
82 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


jealousy isn't going to help you make money with revit.. if you want to know how to do it- just ask me..


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 18, 2011 at 4:28:56 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#9

BlueFairy


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 13, 2010
87 Posts
No Rating


Quite honestly I dont know what to look for when it comes to computers.  I suppose Revit is a pretty intensive program so I should get near the higher end PC's.  I heard the graphic card was an important factor.  However, computeres get outdated so quickly and I do find myself getting something new every 2 to 3 years.  Do I get something near the high end but not too high.  I certainly dont want to spend on more power than I actually need when something newer and better will come out the next year, I think.  

My choices have been as such in Toshiba:

http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/cdetland.to?poid=2000016424

http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/pdet.to?poid=2000002985

Am I looking in the right direction?

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 18, 2011 at 7:05:48 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#10

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


If you truly want a macbook pro then get one. It will most certainly not dissapoint you. I encourage you to check out BIM9 (backed by USCAD). Their founder and owner of www.clubrevit.com created and entire office of Revit based users on macs for Friedmutter Las Vegas. They did the Cosmopolitan here in Las Vegas which at the time was the largest Revit model ever made. Since it looks like you are in Los Angeles do you have any plans to go to Autodesk University in November?

 

Vector, I am 1000% positive there is not a single person on this site or probably on this planet that is jealous of you.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 2:13:58 AM | BlueFairy

#11

latino76


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 3, 2008
14 Posts
No Rating


Quoting BlueFairy from 2011-10-13 23:03:09

 

I'm thinking of getting the latest Macbook pro with Fusion or Parallels to install Revit architecture.  Is this a good idea for this program or not?  I've done book camp before and didnt like it.  

 

what part of Bootcamp didnt you like? I have had no issues with it at all, and find that everything runs better natively.

where I work, we use only PC's for Revit, even though most of us use macs at home. I use the mac version of autocad at home, and use Revit through Bootcamp on my macpro when i need to be mobile. I find that Win7 runs a hell of alot better on MBP, using parrallels etc just seems like such a power drain to me....but thats just me maybe.



Edited on: Tue, Oct 18, 2011 at 9:15:14 PM

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 2:45:15 AM | alabaster2513

#12

vector4



vector4 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
82 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Quoting alabaster2513 from 2011-10-18 14:05:48

Vector, I am 1000% positive there is not a single person on this site or probably on this planet that is jealous of you.

 

"Never start a land war in asia."


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 4:24:24 AM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#13

vector4



vector4 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
82 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


BlueFairy- i have to be careful what i say because i'm on probation here at revit city and i don't want to blow it.. i can't offend those kind of people who have feelings about wanting certain things- for me it's business and logic.. sure i love revit- but i'm just not in that camp and i sure don't want war with them.. but to me- comparing running revit on windows 7 to running it on an updated flavor of the old UNIX operating system is like taking a bath in a motel compared to your own bathtub.. this just might be the shinning point in computer history when everything finally came together.. a really good 64 bit operating system for everyone has been the dream of almost all computer people since the DOS days.. now we have it- windows 7 sp1.. and revit was always great until its time also came to become 64 bit.. it was a big struggle for revit and autodesk transforming revit into 64 bit.. revit 2011 with update 2 is the polished version of that dream.. and i'm sure 2012 is just as great.. my main point is that revit and windows 7 were made for each other.. sure you can build a rickety bridge and make revit work on some other kind of computer- but that just don't make sense to me.. as for how much money should you spend on a windows 7 computer- or what kind of hardware should you buy- the truth is- revit will run on ANY windows machine.. but if you can afford it at all- the smartest computer to have right now is the fairly new intel sandy bridge setup.. it has onboard graphics so you don't even need to worry about that part.. laptops are not practical at all for revit.. because usually when you are working on a revit project you are in your office surrounded with support and not on an airplane.. a full sized desktop computer is easy to keep cool and easy to get at the components..


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 6:13:48 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#14

BlueFairy


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 13, 2010
87 Posts
No Rating


Latino76, I did not like boot camp because I did not like having to shut down and boot back up to get into the mac environment.  Maybe I did not give this much of a chance, but I almost felt that I should have on or the other.

Alabaster, I'm still trying to understand Bim9.  So is the advertizement saying I can install a program on a cloud harddrive and be able to access it from any place from new york to Los angeles?  Since I am a solo architect, I dont know how much savings I would have.  I wonder how I can hook up with other solo architects to go in on me with this technology.  Is there a yearly fee of $5000 ?  So it's $5000 plus the cost of the program...and so no computer needs to be loaded down with softwares?...yes?

One cloud harddrive with all the programs there... ?

What happens you lose access to the internet?

Vector4, I do not work with anyone around me except when I go to the construction site.  I guess a stationary desktop would be the most powerful and economical, but I do move around quite a bit and my work sometimes does go with me.  Maybe I should wait a little longer for a powerful enough laptop to accomodate this revit program?  But then again, maybe i need to understand this Bim9 better. 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 6:39:51 PM | Revit architecture for Macbook pro?

#15

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


If you are solo I would just go with the high power laptop. My recommendation if you are struggling with the idea of the mac would be to look at the Dell Precision mobile workstations. I have used these in the past (on a nearly 15,000,000 sq ft. project) and they are more than enough power to run Revit. I just reference the Bim9 so you can get an idea for what people are doing with could computing. For example I can setup my bim cloud in my office on my high power workstation and if I need to head out for a site visit I can remotely connect to that workstation via my laptop, tablet, iPad or even my iphone and leverage data from the Revit model. Since you are solo and are probably doing smaller projects this is probably a little overkill. I am attached a spec for a dell mobile workstation that is engineered for 3d work rather than media and entertainment.



This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit architecture on Macbook pro i7 with flashdrive7??

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:11:22 PM

4

Using Revit with MacBook Pro 15" & Parallels [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Sep 20, 2015 at 1:06:25 AM

19

LICENSE PROBLEMS USING REVIT IN A MACBOOK PRO

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 20, 2009 at 5:40:07 AM

3

registration problems on macbook pro

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Sat, Jan 24, 2009 at 5:14:26 AM

3

Display weirdness using Macbook Pro with exterior monitor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 15, 2014 at 5:39:25 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1511990

Objects:

21251

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 7.6101

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights