RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

188 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Project Browser Problems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 11, 2011 at 2:31:21 PM | Project Browser Problems

#1

patton


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
38 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I'm using Windows 7 now and seem to be having a problem with my project browser. I can't seem to more more than one thing at a time into specific folders so that I can manage my details or plans ot anything. I can't even update my sheet list to specify which sheet I'm sending out for a submittal without having to go to each sheet one at a time and adding the check to the box for which submittal I'm at. My company has been making the change from Windows XP which worked great for organizing the browser to Windows 7 which doesn't seem to want to do it. There are a few of us that it doesn't work for and a few that the browser works just fine. We have tried to reinstall it and it still doesn't work properly. This has been going on for a few weeks and I'm getting really tired of having to do eveything one peice at a time. Somebody please help!!

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 18, 2011 at 8:07:49 PM | Project Browser Problems

#2

patton


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
38 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Does anybody have a clue of how to fix this? It is driving me crazy with having to do everything one/sheet at a time.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 18, 2011 at 8:50:04 PM | Project Browser Problems

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


We have 12 and windows 7 on only one machine.  No such problems.  Did you look on AUGI to see if there were any similar problems.  I have not seen this asked here before.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 6:22:41 PM | Project Browser Problems

#4

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


I have Revit Architecture 2012 and Windows 7 and am having a similar problem. Here's an example:

Let's say I want to change the 'View Category' in Identity Data - Properties for multiple views. In the project browser I shift select multiple views, while the views are selected I go to the properties window to choose a different view category. Instead of changing all views at once, it will only change the current open view.

 

Here's another example:

 

I want to change the "sheet issue date" in Identity Data for a whole drawing set. In the project browser I shift select multiple sheets, while the sheets are selected I go to the properties window to choose a a new date. Instead of changing all sheet dates at once, it will only change the current open sheet. In the end I either have to change the dates one by one. Thanks in advance for any ideas.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 6:42:13 PM | Project Browser Problems

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You are doing this with the sheets minimalized - correct?  Views not showing?

 

I don't have a problem in 12 doing this.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 6:54:26 PM | Project Browser Problems

#6

patton


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
38 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


That is the problem I was having was moving things to specific view categories. The only thing I came up with was to leave the properties box docked the way Revit wants it when I first open it. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Once I pulled the properties box out of the standard location and put it on another screen or something is when I have the most trouble with it. I still have yet to figure out the perfect solution.

As far as the sheet issue date, if you are changing it for the whole project you should change the category of your parameter from a sheet to project information for your label. This will change it in one location under project info. Changing it one sheet at a time takes way to long if you are doing the entire project for the same issue date.

WWHub, telling us that you don't have a problem with it doesn't help anybody.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 6:59:19 PM | Project Browser Problems

#7

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


This seems to be a graphics card issue, we've had the same thing happen here. Here's the workaround that seems to work here: Select all the views/sheets you want to change. Select the properties window, you should see that Revit thinks you only have one view/sheet selected (the dropdown under the type selector should display the first view/sheet that you selected). Click on the titlebar for the Project Browser (you need to get the mouse focus out of the properties window without deselecting anything), then click back to the properties window. Revit should now show multiple items selected, and any properties changes you make should be applied to everything. It's an annoying workaround, but it does work.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 7:07:47 PM | Project Browser Problems

#8

patton


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
38 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I'll give that a try, I know that I have since upgraded my graphics card and still seem to have the issue but I'll give anything a try.

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 8:19:22 PM | Project Browser Problems

#9

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


TKennedy, I've tried your work around with no success. Whenever I shift select multiple views it always shows the view I have open, not multiple. Although, I do beleive that you are correct that it's a graphic card issue. Some people in my office have the same issue as I do, and some don't.

 

Patton, Your method of putting the project browser into its natural position on the same screen has corrected the issue! The issue only seems to arrise when I move the project browser over to my second screen (where I want it). But, this works well for now, so I will make due. If anybody knows of another solution please post. 

Thanks for the quick replies, this could save me hours of work this afternoon!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 10:05:48 PM | Project Browser Problems

#10

nafenn


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 13, 2007
15 Posts
No Rating


Try this:

 

Disable Windows visualisation effectsStart menu>Right click “Computer”>Select Properties>Select “Advanced System Settings”>Under the “Advanced” Tab - Select Performance Settings>Select “Adjust for Best Performance”

OR just uncheck "enable desktop composition"


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 10:30:07 PM | Project Browser Problems

#11

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


Success! Thanks nafenn


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

where has my project browser gone?¿

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 2, 2012 at 8:07:10 AM

6

Plan in Project Browser

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 at 2:15:22 PM

3

Browser organization - problems using view template

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 at 2:56:27 PM

2

Project Browser Missing!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 4, 2012 at 8:47:37 PM

6

Having problems with my Project Browser, a newbie question

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, May 2, 2011 at 5:38:33 AM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1794966

Objects:

22512

Forum Posts:

151981

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6825

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights