RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

381 Users Online (202 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 10, 2011 at 5:09:40 PM | Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

#1

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


We own 2 seats of Revit MEP suite, which includes Autocad MEP.  We have been using Revit MEP for 4 years now, and it just doesnt seem to be getting any better or any easier.  Since we work with Architects that use Revit, and we are not required to use Revit, would it make more sense to use Autocad MEP instead?  It seams that content and add on programs are better, and mechanically speaking, it seems that Ductwork shop drawings would be better in Autocad MEP rather than in Revit.  We are also looking to train new users towards BIM, and not sure if we should stay with Revit, or go with Autocad MEP.  I am the only Revit person, and no one knows Autcad MEP either including me, but we all know Autocad or Inventor, would Autocad MEP be a better choice?  Right now we are thinking yes unless there is something that would keep us in Revit.  Since Autodesk owns both, is one going to prevail over the other?  We want to go full out and train and hire new in one or the other, just still not sure which.  As for me, I have only used Revit MEP, and it is a pain, but would AutocadMEP be less of a pain?

I know this has been talked about before, but when I researched the subject people were saying Autocad, which is different than AutocadMEP.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 13, 2011 at 9:14:05 PM | Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

#2

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Really?  No one has any comments on this?  They are both Autodesk products, and we own both as we own the suite, but I need to be practicle.  I am looking for pros and cons for this, ranging from Architects who need to coordinate with Engineers to Engineers using either product.  I dont know AutocadMEP at this time, so not sure of the pros or cons with using ADMEP and I thought others might. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:35:04 PM | Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

#3

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Revit architecture here.  What are your major grievances with revit MEP? 

 

I don't particularly like working with engineers who require dwg exports, and provide us with 2D plans.  Being able to see how the model is coming together in 3D helps us catch and resolve large errors before we get to construction and discover than some members of the design team had made some weird assumptions about, say, ceiling heights, and other clearances.  Nothing is more irritating that trying to explain WHY something won't work, than everyone being able to see it just as easily as opening up a 3D view. 

 

I realize it's kind of frustrating on the mechanical end to be micromanaged by the architects, demanding to see results while still moving chases and soffits and plumbing walls around.  It's easier for engineers to make things work after design is more set in stone... but still.  There have been several major busts discovered through using revit that might not have been noticeable had everything been drawn in autocad.   I remeber in one school remodel several years back, a corridor had a pitched ceiling, and this was lost on whever designed the ducting, because at one point a big fat round duct cuts straight across from one classroom to another at 9'6".   And by then it was way too late to change. 

 

That would have been spotted IMMEDIATELY in revit.   Months and months before CDs.   Like my current project.  We had a major duct flying through the middle of a 2-story lobby for about a week.  The engineer unjokingly suggested we "paint it" as a final solution, but instead we shifted it 6 feet back and built an awkward sloping soffit.  Not ideal, but without being able to coordinate closely in 3 dimensions, it would have been painful to find a solution, for everyone involved.

 

we require engineers we work with to use revit, and they -generally- seem to be okay with the software. 



Edited on: Thu, Oct 13, 2011 at 5:39:46 PM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 12:38:11 AM | Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


As an architect, I prefer working only with engineers using Revit.  I understand the product was lacking but I think 12 has really brought it up to where it needs to be.  As it's says... It really pays to have it all 3D and on your end, project coordination alone is worth it.

 

BTW ... Revit doesn't affect ductwork shop drawings.  Revit exports to CAD just fine if it needs to be there.

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 12:55:24 PM | Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

#5

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Just to be clear, When I am talking Autcad MEP, it is a 3D program and BIM modelling software.  The ability to be able to make shop drawings from AutocadMEP from accurately drawn ductwork is better than it is in Revit.  The model the engineer would give you would be a 3d model from AutocadMEP, that then is imported into revit architecture.  I may not have the full flow accurate, that is why I am asking these questions as well, to better understand.  I am in no way arguing any position, just trying to understand.  Has any architect woorked with an engineer who used AutocadMEP Crying3D model), and what are pros and cons.

One con of Revit is that the fittings and ductwork, as well as piping, are inacurately depicted and drawn.  For this reason, shop drawings made from AutocadMEP tend to be more accurate, as I understand it.

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 1:08:20 PM | Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


AutoCAD MEP 3D does not come into Revit the same as straight Revit.  It is one entity and harder to manipulate in views where we want to show it along with our elements.

 

I have not heard anything about piping being inaccurate in Revit.  I think this statement is incorrect.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 1:21:49 PM | Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

#7

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


What I have found in Revit regarding piping is that the fittings are not accurate.  Now I know you can make your own, or you can download them from certain manufacturers, but even so, the way Revit puts the piping together is not accurate.  It does not account for the "fitting" of the pipe within the fitting, and thus pipe lengths are off.  Also, it will not show connectors of pipes, so I cant join two pipes together with a fitting.  So, making a 100' long run creates a pipe that is 100 feet long, not 10 10ft pipes with 9 connectors.  Also, if I list the length of pipe between two fittings, it gives me the distance between the outside edgse of those fittings, and doesnt account for the pipe thats inside the fittings, so the actual length of pipe is shorter than it should be when scheduled.  This is an example.  I am under the impression that in AutocadMEP that the fittings are included and the lengths are calculated so you can get accurate schedules.

This really is not a big concern, at the moment, but could be eventually.  The bigger concern is this similar situation in ductwork.  To be able to make accurate shop drawings is a big plus for MEP engineers.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Exporting from Revit 2013 to Autocad MEP 2010 while retaining intelligent object

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Dec 7, 2013 at 6:08:38 AM

2

Architect using Revit while MEP use AutoCAD in the same office

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 19, 2015 at 6:53:05 PM

3

Autocad MEP imported into Revit MEP Pros/Cons

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 22, 2011 at 6:08:45 AM

8

Linking 3D Dwg files from AutoCAD Architecture to Revit MEP

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 26, 2010 at 12:48:24 PM

4

MEP crossover to ABS from AutoCAD

Community >> The Studio

Sun, Aug 20, 2006 at 10:32:36 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1496688

Objects:

21168

Forum Posts:

151163

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.5157

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights