RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

257 Users Online (102 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> i'm really new here. *help*

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 6:39:39 PM | i'm really new here. *help*

#1

cocoberry


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 28, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


hi. i'm currently transiting from sketchup to revit, and here's something that i really need help on...

1. does revit has a push/pull function like sketchup? or do i have to draw the whole 3d image entirely?

pls help!! thanks


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 6:44:25 PM | i'm really new here. *help*

#2

cocoberry


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 28, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


and...

i'm using revit 2011 student version...

ok so i'm trying to draw a wooden fence in family...and i choose generic model files and there's more files in it...more options... which one am i suppose to choose? what are the difference?

why can't i just go straight in and just draw?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 7:26:10 PM | i'm really new here. *help*

#3

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


A wooden fence could be built  with the railing tool. But you'd have to modify its properties, and pick/make a new bauluster family.

 

or, you could make a modeled-in-place family, and copy/paste around posts... I guess it depends on what type of fence you are making, really. 

 

Revit and sketchup have very little in common, I'm afraid.  It sounds as if you are still operating under a sketchup frame of mind.  There are several tiers to a revit model, and the objects/families in it. 

 

At the lowermost level of modeling families, you CAN stretch, drag, modify the simple forms... ie, extrusions and sweeps that make up all complex objects like chairs and light fixtures or fences.



Edited on: Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 2:27:04 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 7:37:54 PM | i'm really new here. *help*

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


You say you are trying to add a wooden fence in a family or are you creating a wooden fence family?

 

I suggest you look at these files:  http://revit.autodesk.com/library/archive2009/html/index.html

DOWNLOAD FROM THE SAMPLES - METRIC ... FENCES


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 8:36:28 PM | cocoberry

#5

vector25



vector25 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jun 15, 2011
101 Posts
2.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Quoting cocoberry from 2011-09-28 13:39:39

 "does revit has a push/pull function like sketchup? "

 

cocoberry- you need to understand the purpose of revit.. it's not about a "push/pull function" like sketchup- because it's not a conceptual sketch program- it's a virtual construction program.. it creates a MODEL exactly like the real thing and produces construction documents for that model to be built in the real world.. HOWEVER- if you want to do all that AND sketch the design- then revit for 2010 has added a separate up-front program to the main program just for conceptual sketching that DOES have all that "push/pull" stuff.. you can also buy that revit sketch program SEPARATE from revit for a fraction of the revit price.. http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/vasari/?utm_source=Google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=vasari&utm_content=Vasari%20Branded%20Exact&utm_campaign=Autodesk%20-%20Vasari


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 8:53:19 PM | i'm really new here. *help*

#6

cocoberry


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 28, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


yeah! i'm still getting use to using revit *and trying to get rid of the sketchup frame of mind...*...baby steps here Smile

and i've finished making part of the fence, without actually finding out which generic's model filed that i've clicked into =.=''.

but now i've realised that i can't seem to load it into project!! i've tried to place it through component but it can't seem to load at all... what have i done wrong?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 9:47:56 PM | cocoberry

#7

vector25



vector25 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jun 15, 2011
101 Posts
2.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Quoting cocoberry from 2011-09-28 15:53:19

" trying to get rid of the sketchup frame of mind"

 

somebody has to sketch the idea for a building before virtual construction and construction design can begin in revit.. the program SketchUp is just as useful for that as the revit sketch part or any other conceptual sketch program.. pencil and paper works good too.. you can wear two hats- but usually someone does one or the other in the world of architecture.. heck- you could even sketch the idea for a building AND create the construction documents AND hammer the nails AND be the building inspector all in one.. lol


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Add ''scale'' on a drawing list, when it is not under ''available fiel

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 12, 2012 at 2:35:32 PM

4

'Out of Memory' pop up

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 6, 2005 at 8:16:07 PM

0

Sheet # of 'total number of sheets'

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:59:54 PM

6

Hiding Demo'd Garage Doors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 11, 2005 at 1:02:23 AM

5

Curtain panel - ''wont make type'' - Please help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 1:10:58 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1529344

Objects:

21315

Forum Posts:

151305

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7116

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights