RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

295 Users Online (141 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> I miss revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 23, 2011 at 12:17:42 PM | I miss revit

#1

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


^_^ I miss revit. Never thought I would miss using it so much but it rocked!  I tried getting my new job to buy it , and we looked at it but its price is just alot... and in this economy... it won't happen anytime soon.   So I just wanted to say to all those who have revit. Cherish and hold it tight because 2D CAD is retro !

I actually have adapted my CAD style to a revit style way of thinking though, and that has helped alot. Dynamic blocks! I actually made a plan callout perform very similar to the revit ones minus the automatically created view =0  Attached are 2 images showing it in model space hahahah and one in the block editor and yes theres parameters just like revit !

As another note I remember when I first started revit I was drafting in a Autocad state of mind, and that soon went away within just 2 years.

 

Thanks all hope everyone is doing good. RIP ALLENBALL



Attached Images

97670_PLAN_Callout.bmp97670_Callout_Param.bmp

-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 23, 2011 at 2:13:57 PM | I miss revit

#2

vector25



vector25 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jun 15, 2011
101 Posts
2.5 Stars: 7 Votes


just run revit in demo mode and become a revit expert.. nobody is really doing any construction work right now anyway.. someday you will be glad you did that..


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 23, 2011 at 6:07:40 PM | I miss revit

#3

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


i guess thats a thought, what happens in demo mode tho? can't print? print with watermarks? or... what i thought the demo expired in 30 days?

by the way I used revit for 2-3 years with 3 versions up to 2010 with the once infamous "ribbon" tool bar so yeah I consider myself fairly advanced even with my absence



Edited on: Fri, Sep 23, 2011 at 1:08:46 PM

-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 23, 2011 at 6:35:54 PM | I miss revit

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


yep, 30 day trial, no strings attached.   No watermark.  You can still save.  It's even possible to trick your machine into allowing reinstalls with indefinite fresh trials.   Not that I endorse that... or piracy... for anything business related.  But for individuals developing their own skills and trying to stay competative in the drafting business is only GOOD for autodesk if their products are being learned, and then later applied in businesses that pay full price.

 

If revit isn't inaccessible to the common person and prohibitively expensive to learn, it will never be adopted.   That would hurt business more than piracy for people who only want to practice. 

 

no?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 23, 2011 at 10:57:47 PM | itsmyalterego

#5

vector25



vector25 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jun 15, 2011
101 Posts
2.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Quoting itsmyalterego from 2011-09-23 13:35:54

"It's even possible to trick your machine into allowing reinstalls with indefinite fresh trials." 

 

yes there are many ways to get the demo mode to behave as if it were a full licensed version and be able to print and save- and autodesk has no problem with anyone doing that as long as they comply with the EULA- which simply states that if you use revit to make money with then you must buy a license.. but if you are not a computer expert and you don't know how to make the demo print and save- "infinitely"- then you will not be missing much if you just use the demo as is.. because if you are not selling construction documents then you really don't need to see your work on paper.. if you want to save some of the lines you have created or your pretty model- for your own reference or just to show your mom- then you can simply print screen it.. also if you are working on a project for learning and you don't want it to go away so soon- just don't shut down your computer.. autodesk WANTS you to use revit for learning- even if you need to make the program stand on its head- just don't make money with it and not give caesar his share..


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 23, 2011 at 11:22:49 PM | Prophecy99

#6

vector25



vector25 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jun 15, 2011
101 Posts
2.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Quoting Prophecy99 from 2011-09-23 13:07:40

"the once infamous "ribbon" tool bar"

apparently i was technically correct all along about the ribbon not being a performance improvment over the original UI- but wrong about using the ribbon in general.. because i'm still using revit 2011 and i can just as well use the original UI like i did for many years- but i now prefer using the ribbon interface.. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2011 at 3:08:07 PM | I miss revit

#7

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Prohp! Buddy! Where you been?! Yes, after the 30 day trial, you can still open Revit in Viewer mode which allows you to still use the software but you can't save or print from it.

Hey man, come hang out when you get a chance: http://revittotd.com/chat

Good to see you again!

 

 


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

HDDWG2003 (R.I.P.)

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Mar 8, 2011 at 7:07:16 PM

9

Timber cladding (hit or miss style) in revit architecture 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 6, 2012 at 3:08:59 PM

3

Revision schedule hit and miss

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 6:10:55 PM

2

Ajusting layers in stacked walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 22, 2013 at 8:44:17 PM

2

Revit 9 backward compatible?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 11, 2006 at 10:01:57 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1512572

Objects:

21254

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.9955

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights