RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

364 Users Online (187 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rendered walkthrough is blurry

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Sep 12, 2011 at 3:46:52 PM | Rendered walkthrough is blurry

#1

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I exported a rendered walkthrough and the result was blurry. I did a 300 frame @ 15fps rendered walkthrough at I think "high" quality. It took about 15 hours to do, which I expected, but I was hoping for a little better quality result. I'm bidding on doing a 3d walkthrough for a historic house documentary, so I need to make sure I can achieve the quality that will be required. Any help would be appriciated!

Thank you!



This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 12, 2011 at 9:51:23 PM | Rendered walkthrough is blurry

#2

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


You need to make sure that the dimensions of the 3D view are nice and big, say, 1920x1080 and not 600x400 pixels.  I'd suggest rendering at medium quality for speed.

 

"Quality" of a render only affects things like shadow softness and reflection bounces.   You won't notice any difference for ordinary renderings, except that they'll render 50% faster or so with medium quality. 

 

As you set up your walkthrough, it'll ask you how you want to save it -- and what sort of compression you want to use. Revit uses some sort of simplistic Microsoft compression, and it really sucks.  That's likely where your blurriness comes from.  Instead, export an uncompressed AVI.  It'll be gigabytes probably, or maybe just hundreds of megabytes, but then you can throw it into something like Windows Movie maker, (which is free and probably already installed on your machine)  and then compress it with better options.   Like "Best, for local playback"  which will have almost no reduction in crispness, but make it 90% smaller in size.

 

probably the best way to compress a raw AVI into a good quality video. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 2, 2014 at 5:31:55 PM | Rendered walkthrough is blurry

#3

apassariello


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 14, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


@itsmyalterego

I'm having the same issue as pdoak. I tried doing as you suggested however, when I export the walkthrough as uncompressed, the video ends up glitching. (The video screen is split on a diagonal and shows to different walkthrough views playing) At least thats what happens when I play the video on my mac. However, I cant even play the rendered video on a windows machine. I get an error saying that the computer does not have enough memory and quits and its the only thing I have open.

 

Do you or anyone else know what might be going on?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 2, 2014 at 5:49:37 PM | Rendered walkthrough is blurry

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Well, I recently had a MAJOR breakthrough with walkthroughs. I used a free 3rd party application to compress Revit exported video. It compresses video to literally 1/100th the diskspace. The program is called handbrake. The video quality is virtually lossless and blows revit's built-compression out of the water. I hope that helps!

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 2, 2014 at 7:41:44 PM | Rendered walkthrough is blurry

#5

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I ended up only rendering my walkthroughs to single images, either jpg or tiff, and then combining to video later. This worked best for me as it removed the risk of losing the entire video if it messed up and having to redo. It also gave me a glimpse at the product before completion so I could see if there was anything missing through the video, and if so I could fix it easily and only correct the frames I needed. It also allowed me to put more than one machine on the job without a network, having one machine render frames 0-150 and the other 151-300, etc. I've also found myself using 3ds max for some rendered walkthroughs, but the curve of learning that program well enough to get good results is daunting, well worth the time though, especially for anything interior. I'll have to look into the 3rd party program suggested above, never used it.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

best way to do a rendered Walkthrough video?(Student)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 11:31:24 AM

6

Rendered Walkthrough

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 7, 2007 at 12:39:51 PM

3

Walkthrough in realistic view, not rendered

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 5:00:38 PM

1

Blurry Render

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 9, 2013 at 12:40:16 AM

0

rendered walkthrough?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 2, 2012 at 7:43:19 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1496673

Objects:

21168

Forum Posts:

151162

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3727

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights