RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

272 Users Online (129 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Manipulating the door schedule

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 2, 2011 at 8:15:19 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#1

esahnow


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 7, 2008
27 Posts
No Rating


Hello all,

I'm using Revit '12

I have a 6'-0" double door (typ) and want them noted in the door schedule as (2) 3'-0" doors instead of 6'-0" which is shown. I also don't want to place 2 3' doors in the model (I don't want the number of doors listed in the schedule to be double of what is actually there) next to eachother as they act as a single unit. Any idea to manipulate the door schedule? Anyone else have this problem and solved it a different way?

 

Thanks for the help!



Edited on: Fri, Sep 2, 2011 at 3:16:25 PM

-----------------------------------

Eric Sahnow

Project Lead/Designer

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 2, 2011 at 8:59:47 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#2

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I have a column in our schedule for Panel Quantity that I fill out. For double doors I use the Width parameter to control the width of a single panel and have another parameter for Overall width with a formula like this (Width*2) to control the overall opening. In the schedule I am using the Width parameter for the width column, so the Line in the schedule would be something like this

Double Doors

Width = 3'

Panel Qty = 2

 

Single Doors

Width = 3'

Panel Qty = 1



Edited on: Fri, Sep 2, 2011 at 4:00:36 PM

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 3, 2011 at 3:08:55 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


We do it a little different than James.  We have a yes no switch for double or not.  That ends up showing as a check in the schedule.  Then we hide the door width column and have a calculated filed titled width that is conditional.  It calculates the door width as whole or half.  This works well for all conditions including storefront doors but it will not work on unequal leaf doors.  We usually don't have those.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 4:26:48 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#4

Carley


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 3, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


WWHub could you expand on how you do that?  Is it set within the parameters or is it a text box in the schedule.  I am desprately trying to figure out the best way to do this on a large project.  The doors I have in the project are the standard ones from the Revit library. 

Revit 2013


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 4:53:44 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


A single, 3' door schedules as a 3' door with pair NO. 

A pair of 3' doors schedules as 3' door with pair YES.

 

See attached



Attached Images

121552_Dr_Sch.PNG121552_Door_calc.PNG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 7:30:42 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#6

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Hi Carley,

You might try this. The schedule called Pr. 3'-0" x 7'-0", or Pr. 3'-0"/2'-0" X 7'-0" for un-equal doors.

http://www.revitcity.com/downloads.php?action=view&object_id=11969


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 7:51:57 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


CDWdavid,

You can always create a manual parameter (text) and fill it in manually.  The process we were talking about is a truely parametric schedule.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 8:05:55 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#8

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


That was a parametric schedule. The "Type" of each door showed on the schedule was the size.

May be your parametric is different. But the way I have does not require any manully input.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 8:40:57 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


CDWdavid,

 

So how does your schedule work when you also have curtain wall doors?  Your system works fine on a house but not many commercial projects.

Curtain wall door sizes do not come from a type.  They are determined by the opening which gives you a width and a height.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 26, 2013 at 3:42:12 AM | Manipulating the door schedule

#10

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Hi WWHub,

Please see attached door schedule, doors AD-1 and AD-2 are curtain wall doors.

The door schedule had no problem to show them.

Now my question was, for those two curtain wall doors, I had to manully assign door numbers to each door tag on plan, instead of letting Revit to assign them automatically like other doors in typical walls. Would you please tell me your way to place those curtain wall doors? I like to learn your way, then to see if I can manipulate with my door schedule.

Thanks!



Edited on: Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 10:50:29 PM

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 26, 2013 at 12:33:23 PM | Manipulating the door schedule

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Where does that information come from on your CW doors?  True curtain wall doors can not have a type based size because they are really a curtain wall panel.  Sure, you can call it a 3'x7' even if it measures 3'6x6'8... but that defeats some of Revit's automatic properties.  When we see a curtain wall door in the schedule with a strange size, we know the curtain wall is wrong so we fix it.

 

.... or are you placing a standard door in your curtain wall?

 

Because CW doors are a CW panel, they will never tag automatically with a door tag like regular doors.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 27, 2013 at 3:35:33 AM | Manipulating the door schedule

#12

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Hi WWHub,

Those two doors were CW doors, I picked the CW panels on elevation and replaced them with CW doors, and Revit adjusted the door size automatically per the height and width of that panel. On "Project Browser", under Families, Doors, the name of that family was "CW_Door_Single", under that I just renamed the type to 3'-6" x 8'-4", which came from the "Properties" of that door, and the dimensions showed up on my door schedule automatically. Since our projects are all schools, hospitals and prisons, ADA clearances are crucial, therefore we like to see the actual size of door leafs on door schedule, and on project browser; we also check with the door properties, which are the actual sizes of those doors, to make sure they are all ADA compliant.

I'm very glad to hear from you that "CW doors are a CW panel, they will never tag automatically with a door tag like regular doors". I alway wondered if I did something wrong for those CW doors, because they were not tagged like regular doors. Since our buildings are not commercial, therefore the total number of CW doors are small, that's why I didn't spend too much time on CW doors, as long as we can get what we want. Now from your word, looks like I did it right. Thanks!

 



Edited on: Thu, Jun 27, 2013 at 8:48:45 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Schedule material mark in door schedule - Revit 2014

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 19, 2018 at 8:57:03 PM

7

Door Schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 17, 2012 at 12:07:50 PM

6

Customized Door Schedule Needs Help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 25, 2011 at 10:53:09 PM

2

Trying to Schedule a door that lives in a Window Family

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jan 16, 2014 at 6:07:10 PM

1

DOOR SCHEDULE

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jan 16, 2009 at 5:15:24 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1566576

Objects:

21426

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3794

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights