RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

281 Users Online (142 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> please help with custom family...

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 at 7:13:11 PM | please help with custom family...

#1

colerothlauf


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 17, 2011
4 Posts
No Rating


very new at creating families...but i created a troffer light fixture and have 2x4, 2x2, & 1x4 types...while in the family itself, i can go up and change the type and parameters change the size of the troffer, just as i intend.....when i load it into a project, i can select the size i want and it shows it just fine...however, after i place it and then select it and let's say change it from 2x4 to a 1x4, it doesn't change the size of the troffer, but does change wattage/name/etc.....i am able to manually change the dimension of the troffer myself in properties...but i would like it to change the troffer size itself when i pick a 1x4 as apposed to a 2x4.....within the family, i have tried to check and uncheck the "lock" column, but that seems to have no effect

any suggestions?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 at 7:19:02 PM | please help with custom family...

#2

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


It seems what has happened it that you adjusted the types in the family after you had loaded it into the project. When you reload a family you have two options. One is to overwrite just the family and the other is to overwrite the family and all parameter values. Try reloading and using the Overwrite family and parameters options. This should update the values in the parameters with the values contained in the family.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 at 7:33:46 PM | please help with custom family...

#3

colerothlauf


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 17, 2011
4 Posts
No Rating


thanks for idea...but i tried what you described and it still wouldn't change dimensions after i placed it.....i've also tried purging it out and reloading it, but no go

would you mind taking a look at it?



Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 at 8:03:59 PM | please help with custom family...

#4

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Your dimension paramaters are currently set as Instance parameters. Set them to Type parameters and it will update with each type.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 at 8:15:45 PM | please help with custom family...

#5

colerothlauf


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 17, 2011
4 Posts
No Rating


ahh, thank you very much...prolly a rookie mistake by i'm learning : )

/case closed lol


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Rendering problem with Custon Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 11, 2008 at 11:49:58 AM

8

Preblems with custom families

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 17, 2009 at 1:08:26 PM

4

Custom Precast Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 18, 2016 at 7:48:12 PM

3

Custom Linetype Not Showing When Inside of Another Family?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 25, 2016 at 3:11:55 PM

3

Help Rescaling a custom family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 22, 2011 at 2:59:33 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1475042

Objects:

21059

Forum Posts:

151024

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4045

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights