RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

189 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> extruded generic model and mass floors (2012)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 30, 2011 at 4:00:44 PM | extruded generic model and mass floors (2012)

#1

broughton


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 20, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


When designing floor layouts in plan view I frequently use a mass to quickly tell me the building's gross floor area as the design evolves. Because I'm working in plan view so much it's quicker to model the mass in place using an extruded generic model with the mass floors applied. This workflow worked nicely in 2011 but in 2012 the mass floors button is grayed out preventing me from applying mass floors to the mass. Does anyone know why the mass floors button is grayed out. Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 30, 2011 at 5:51:17 PM | extruded generic model and mass floors (2012)

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 185 Votes


I don't have any problem with that, is that a mass???



Attached Images

96682_MASS.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 31, 2011 at 3:45:37 PM | extruded generic model and mass floors (2012)

#3

broughton


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 20, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


Did you create the mass using 'In-Place Mass' in 'Massing & Site'? If so try creating the mass by going to Home, Component, Model In-Place, Generic Models and Extrusion. Once the mass has been created pick the mass and mass floors will be grayed out (screenshot attached). Strictly speaking I'm not sure if this is classed as a mass.



Attached Images

96733_screenshot1.png

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 31, 2011 at 5:34:05 PM | extruded generic model and mass floors (2012)

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 185 Votes


Watch the video: http://screencast.com/t/c0GuLYVmmKf

Did you create that in "MASS" category? NO... look your image, can you see??? Top/left corner "Modify|Generic Models", if that object was created in "MASS" category you will see "Modify|Mass".

 

 



Edited on: Wed, Aug 31, 2011 at 12:58:17 PM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2018 at 8:38:57 PM | extruded generic model and mass floors (2012)

#5

imro1


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 13, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


I have modeled a form using ARCHITECTURE > COMPONENT > MODEL-IN PLACE

I have to model it this way because when I model it via MASSING & SITE > IN PLACE MASS I do not have the options for SWEEP BLEND - WHICH I NEED!!!!

It seems I cannot MASS FLOORS when it is a GENERIC MODEL though!

COME ON !!!! What the heck do I do?  I have tried sweeping the profile in an IN PLACE MASS with no success, I keep getting a million errors of intersecting paths etc.

COME ON!!!! PLEASE HELP

pwmurdoch@gmail.com



Attached Images

158415_MASS_SWEEP_GENERIC_MODEL.PNG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 21, 2018 at 8:36:03 AM | extruded generic model and mass floors (2012)

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 185 Votes


Question: Why SWEEP BLEND to create that form?

Did you tried (in MASS category) to create the bottom profile, then the upper profile, select both then create form?


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

[Revit 2010] Mass form usable as generic model or any structural element?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 5, 2009 at 12:44:06 AM

4

Mass Floors not all showing up - some missing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 11, 2012 at 9:44:46 AM

1

Mass Floors with a Minimum Height/Clearance

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 18, 2012 at 10:25:50 AM

2

Conceptual Mass: Revit Architecture 2012 (Trial V.)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 30, 2014 at 12:20:05 PM

7

complex mass shape in generic family

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Jul 20, 2011 at 12:02:28 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1195967

Objects:

19493

Forum Posts:

149434

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.5114

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights