RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

298 Users Online (123 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 9, 2011 at 3:30:30 PM | Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

#1

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

I would appreciate your thoughts on this problem:

I create a generic annotation family of some lines.

One of the lines I want to make thick, red and dashed, so go to ‘Object Styles’ and create a new subcategory of Generic Annotations and change its Line Weight, Line Colour and Line Pattern to thick red and dashed.

I load this into my project and it displays how I want.

Sometime later I need to change this to a different colour and line weight.

When I change this in the family and load it again, it does not update the project, as the project ‘remembers’ its original Object Style settings. The only way I’ve found of changing the line style is to make the change to the Project Object settings themselves, not the family.

Is this correct? Is there no way of ‘forcing the update of the styles in the project when you load a family?

 

Cheers.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 9, 2011 at 3:35:15 PM | Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

#2

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


You are correct, when it comes to objects styles (and materials, and something else I'm blanking on at the moment) the project rules.

 

We are actually using this to our advantage in our family building process. In the family all the different object styles use bright primary colors that are easy to identify and work with. The project OS is set up to make everything black.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 9, 2011 at 3:41:44 PM | Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

#3

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks.

 

Thats an interesting way of doing things with the colours in families.

I might do somethign similar I've changed my project line weights to be slightly thinner, and now realise that I have do update all the family templates to match!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 9, 2011 at 6:57:38 PM | Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

#4

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


It may not be necessary for you to update all of your families. Update you project template (and any current projects) to include the object styles you have in your families, and get it all set up there. Now it doesn't matter what your families look like, it will be correct in the project.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 10, 2011 at 8:35:02 AM | Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

#5

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


OK, agreed.

 

The only reason I thought of updating the families was that one or two people have comments that its confusing when lines appear a certain thickess in the family editor and then look thinner in the project.

 

I suppose the alternative is to educate them as to why this happens...

 

Thanks for your advice.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 10, 2011 at 2:23:17 PM | Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

#6

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


If you want the families to be correct you certainly can change them, it just depends on if you want/can put the time and effort into doing so. If it's causing enough confusion in your office it might be worth it to make the changes.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 24, 2015 at 7:31:34 PM | Updating a Projects Object Styles from a loaded Family

#7

send2hamilton


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 15, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


To change the annotation settings in family you can load the family into a project, set the annotation settings as desired, then open the family from within the project.  The family will open with the inherited project settings and you can now save and overwrite the family file.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Change Default Family Category Model Object Styles

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 9:23:45 PM

2

Revit Template Family Object Styles

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 2, 2012 at 3:18:36 PM

1

Texture behaviour with new family from imported 3D object

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 27, 2016 at 11:58:11 AM

11

Object Styles in Family

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 11, 2012 at 1:20:41 AM

2

lines and detail components

Community >> Newbies

Tue, May 7, 2013 at 3:10:25 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1633715

Objects:

22068

Forum Posts:

151656

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3373

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights