RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

214 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 9, 2011 at 2:30:58 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#1

zaklee


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 13, 2005
17 Posts
No Rating


I've created a shaft opening in phase "New Construction". No matter what I do the shaft is also visible in the existing phase. Is this normal or am I doing something stupid?


-----------------------------------

Zachary Klee, AIA, NCARB

Klee Odom + Klee, PLLC

Biloxi, Mississippi

www.kleeodomklee.com 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 9, 2011 at 2:58:55 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


You might have a problem with this because a shaft cuts the floor.  I think you would be better to have a seperate floor sketched in this opening and demo it in the other phase.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 9, 2011 at 3:28:03 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#3

zaklee


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 13, 2005
17 Posts
No Rating


Good idea. I employed another low-tech solution: I turned off floor surface patters and then made the shaft opening lines invisible with linework. Good enough for now.

 

The shaft opening SHOULF work like a door such that the floor is intact in the existing view, shows the opening cut dashed in a demo view and as a void in the new construction view. Similarly, if you were to delete a shaft it should show the extents dashed in the demo view and show a new floor infill in the new construction view.

 

Sadly, this is not the case...


-----------------------------------

Zachary Klee, AIA, NCARB

Klee Odom + Klee, PLLC

Biloxi, Mississippi

www.kleeodomklee.com 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 23, 2011 at 2:06:54 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#4

Lochnesska


active
Lochnesska Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2011
25 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


The problem of creating a new floor sketch for the new phase is that it will be an entire floor created in next phase and so if I use the graphic filters for the different phases the floor will display as NEW instead of a small piece that is no more there...

What I did when I started thinking about this problem is that I made an opening in the actual floor, I made another one floor that fills the opening and I joined them - so in exi phase there is no difference and in the next phase I simply demolished this part of floor. Better than the phase not-sensitive shaft.


-----------------------------------

Nessie

Revit 2013

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 15, 2012 at 12:11:40 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#5

ihakki


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 26, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


The attached famility will add an opening to a surface and it can be phased.  It also adds an 'X' to the view.  If you don't like the X, edit the family to remove it.  X & Y are instances.  Z is a type parameter.

It's not as cool as a shaft.  In order to link to other floors, turn on underlay, align and lock the edges.  A lot of work, but a workable workaround.

IH



This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 9, 2016 at 3:05:09 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#6

CombatPotato


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 9, 2009
0 Posts
No Rating


I use model-in-place voids.  After you create the extrusion, select and cut any surface you want with a single void.  Ceilings, floors, and walls should be easy.  Sometimes, the void opening cannot be edited.  If this happens.  Delete and redraw the void cut.

 

This phases.

 

I find it very useful for compelx residential roofs and multi-story buildings.

 

Any better ideas out there?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 1, 2017 at 5:31:25 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#7

billgilliss


active

Joined: Sat, Apr 2, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


Some Model-In-Place components can be phased this way, some apparently can't. Modeling-in-Place as a void stair component worked for me - it was a stair opening I was cutting, so that made as much sense as any. Way easier to work with than shafts, too, in terms of selection and adjusting.

 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 2, 2017 at 3:42:25 PM | Shaft Opening Phase Visibility

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


It is really easy just to edit the floor sketch and create the hole.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Visibility of Shaft Openings in a detail view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 4:13:42 PM

0

Cutting a shaft wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 1:13:39 PM

4

Undoing Shaft Opening

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 2, 2007 at 6:00:35 PM

9

A Floor That Can't Be Penetrated by Shaft Opening

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 8:30:48 PM

5

Floor and shaft opening issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 4, 2016 at 8:41:50 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1456773

Objects:

20459

Forum Posts:

150546

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2720

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights