RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

197 Users Online (92 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> Graphics Card

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Aug 5, 2011 at 3:37:58 PM | Graphics Card

#1

bucksy99


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 26, 2011
13 Posts
No Rating


I am looking to get a solid, reliable graphics card that can run 2 screens. Not looking for anything too crazy and too expensive. Just something that can run 2 screens and acceptable for creating rendering.

Is there something out there for let's say $100 ?

 

Thanks for any input. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 5, 2011 at 7:01:59 PM | Graphics Card

#2

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Head over to Newegg.com.  Pick up a gaming card -- you can probably find a decent graphics card for ~100. 

 

Ratings tend to be pretty reliable on that site, i tend to prefer NVidia over ATI chips. 

 

Also -- the graphics card is hardly used for the rendering process.  Rendering is the processor's job.   The most graphics-intense moments of revit are orbitting a 3d model with effects like ambient occlusion, transparencies, and shadows enabled. 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Aug 6, 2011 at 4:28:50 PM | Graphics Card

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


NVidia is the way .....


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Sat, Aug 6, 2011 at 10:47:47 PM | Graphics Card

#4

bucksy99


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 26, 2011
13 Posts
No Rating


I am leaning toward NVIDIA any model you could recommend?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Aug 7, 2011 at 12:09:32 PM | Graphics Card

#5

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i would stick with the Quadro series. based on your budget any of the entry level cards should be viable choices. i would double check the Autodesk site and see what they have listed.


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 8, 2011 at 1:07:34 AM | Graphics Card

#6

carrucha75


active
carrucha75 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
68 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


I agree with Coreed i really need a Quadro at least 2000 hehehe!


-----------------------------------

.........................................................................

Not Sure What Revit Can Do?... Find it OUT!!!

Imagination is more important than knowledge...” -Albert Einstein

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 8, 2011 at 1:13:54 AM | Graphics Card

#7

bucksy99


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 26, 2011
13 Posts
No Rating


another (probably dumb) question; let's say the card has 3 outputs DVI, VGA and/or HDMI. Does that automatically mean I can run 2 (or even 3) monitors on it ? 

thanks again


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 8, 2011 at 12:58:58 PM | Graphics Card

#8

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


it doesn't automatically mean that, but most cards today allow at least 2 monitors. basically those are cable types used to connect the monitor to the computer. HDMI allows for a digital display as opposed to a analog display. i think most people are running in digital mode these days.


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 8, 2011 at 7:33:04 PM | Graphics Card

#9

bucksy99


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 26, 2011
13 Posts
No Rating


thanks a lot

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

lumion graphics card use

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Dec 2, 2014 at 8:03:22 AM

4

7600 GT GRAPHICS CARD COLOUR PROB'S IN REVIT

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 8, 2008 at 4:34:38 AM

10

Revit graphics card?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 6:47:10 PM

8

Will my graphics card be supported by revit?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 21, 2010 at 8:43:36 PM

4

Laptops w/ Integrated Graphics Card

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:33:42 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1529717

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151309

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1326

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights