RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

231 Users Online (94 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Dimensioning to Linked Revit model

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 1:03:36 PM | Dimensioning to Linked Revit model

#1

lewis001


active

Joined: Fri, May 25, 2007
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi

Ive got a project where its a 3 storey addition to an existing building. i was advised to create the existing building in a seperate model, which i then loaded into my new building model. this has worked fine up to now. im now trying to dimension new foundations to old foundations. unfortunately, the lines from the existing model that are hidden (foundations, downstand beams, etc) wont let me use them to dimension. the weird thing is i can dimension to a foundation if part of it is outside the building but as soon as its hidden i cant. it also lets me dimension to it if i set it to wireframe mode which is a work around but would be good to find out why i cant dimension to the hidden lines in the linked model.

any help would be appreciated.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 1:28:18 PM | Dimensioning to Linked Revit model

#2

lewis001


active

Joined: Fri, May 25, 2007
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I also cant tag the dimensions that are dashed, but i can tag them if they arent.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 1:29:16 PM | Dimensioning to Linked Revit model

#3

lewis001


active

Joined: Fri, May 25, 2007
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


** foundations, not dimesnions! **


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 2:00:45 PM | Dimensioning to Linked Revit model

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


From the ribbon in plan, goto the view tab, pick show hidden lines, now you should be able to pick the hidden element and add hidden line that you can dimension to.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 2:34:26 PM | Dimensioning to Linked Revit model

#5

lewis001


active

Joined: Fri, May 25, 2007
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


i can already see the hidden lines from the existing model, i just cant pick them to dimension or tag.

sorry, should have made myself clearer.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 2:44:03 PM | Dimensioning to Linked Revit model

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


I have not done what you are doing but this is a suggestion.  If your view is set up with proper depth, turn off the VG linework of the link and add your own hidden lines as I suggested. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimensioning linked files - best practice

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 at 2:00:29 PM

3

Linked Revit Model Sheets

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 5, 2013 at 5:04:28 PM

5

Not able to place room copied from linked model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 1:10:37 PM

4

Switches in a mirrored linked revit model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 22, 2020 at 12:44:20 PM

3

Moving a linked Revit model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 9:57:59 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1606079

Objects:

21959

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8293

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights