RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

236 Users Online (109 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Roof problems joining existing to proposed

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jul 29, 2011 at 5:14:30 AM | Roof problems joining existing to proposed

#1

Incaino


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 6, 2011
13 Posts
No Rating


http://screencast.com/t/9ugvacHjlx

 

Im having trouble joining an existing gable roof to a proposed gable roof as per picture.  The problem is happening as the proposed roof is higher than the existing roof.  What I need is the existing roof to be extended to the new roof.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 29, 2011 at 6:09:33 AM | Roof problems joining existing to proposed

#2

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Hey -- the tool for you (I was able to do this with slopes, but it's a pain in the curse) is a roof that's defined by Points, and Ridgelines. 

 

Start by sketching the footprint.  Finish the roof with no slope on any of the boundary lines.  When you select the flat roof, you'll see that you can "modify sub elements"

 

You can now select the points on all the corners of the roof.  You can also add more points, and then drag and snap these points to the proper elevations, or copy/paste the correct elevations into them.  A much more free-form way of modeling a roof.  But less accurate for slope unless you do your math. 

 

pic related.



Attached Images

95494_roof_by_points.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 22, 2013 at 3:15:05 AM | Roof problems joining existing to proposed

#3

revituser24


active
revituser24 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 10, 2013
51 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I had that situation of one roof is higher than the other. I just joined the roofs with the join roof command. In my case I had to sketch a hip roof 1st by footprint and the sketch a gable roof by extrusion. Then use the join roof command.  The 2 roofs are joined but can someone let me know why the side face of the roof is not covered after using the join roof command? In other words there is a triangle opening on the side of the roof.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Existing and Proposed Problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 28, 2014 at 1:56:04 PM

1

Existing / Proposed

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 6, 2011 at 9:19:02 PM

4

existing, demo and new roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 1:21:30 PM

2

Existing and proposed design

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 4, 2006 at 11:50:54 PM

7

Existing and proposed ground level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 4, 2014 at 11:35:48 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1692907

Objects:

22218

Forum Posts:

151749

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5365

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights