RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

177 Users Online (79 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Head in the "point" clouds

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 13, 2011 at 11:00:21 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#1

NickM80


active
NickM80 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jul 13, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


A quick hello to the Revit City members. As a quick introduction and history I have been operating laser scanners for the last 4 years and have a pretty extensive knowledge of the equipment and manipulaitng point clouds. With Revit 2012 I'm pretty excited to see that point clouds have native support and I'm looking forward to throwing myself into the deep end (not too deep as there are some Revit users in my office already) and seeing what can be achieved with scanner data in Revit for ourselves and our clients.

Looking forward to the challenge and learning a few things from the fellow Revit City members.


-----------------------------------

Yes, that's a point clound as my avatar

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 13, 2011 at 11:30:17 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#2

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


I've been very interested about laser scanners, yet they're out of my firm's price range, and renting is not an option in our part of the world. We've tried Microsoft Photosynth and Autodesk Photo Scene Editor to generate point cloud models from photographs, but the accuracy is anything but reliable. 

 

Either way, so far revit isn't able to use the point clouds to generate masses -- it's pretty much just for use as a guide to trace over with regular walls, etc. 

 

Particularly for sitework, I would be THRILLED to have a 3D mass generated by an imported cloud.  Maybe soon.  Though I'm sure there's a chain of programs to import/export/import/export through to get a solid. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2011 at 12:50:51 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


From what I saw demonstrated, the point cloud is not "used as a guide to trace over".  Instead, a plane is established from multiple points automatically and you can then do wall by face or whatever.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2011 at 10:08:09 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


All I know is from one inserted point cloud I've played with, and watching the autodesk tutorial on the new feature.  The tutorial left me nonplussed.  They were just so pleased with the way you could drag walls up and down in the 3d view to match the point cloud visually, and roughly.  Wasn't the sort of integration I hoped for, that's all.  

 

There didn't seem to anything automatic about it, although you could interact somewhat with the points. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2011 at 11:13:36 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#5

NickM80


active
NickM80 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jul 13, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


I'm yet to really see what can be achieved with the point cloud in Revit but in regards to automation my experience with any idea of automation with point clouds is a pipe dream. All automated products I have seen require such vast amounts of QA and editing to ensure they are correct that you would have been better off creating the 3D objects manually and maintaining control of the final product. There are too many variables in scan data which make it much easier and quicker for the human mind to interpret rather than a CPU and algorithim.

What excites me in Revit is the speed in which a 3D model can be generated (in comparison to AutoCAD or specific scanning software) and also that the generated model will be in a more useable format for other consultants as opposed to the models we are used to generating.

 

Also the rapid ability to give context to design models by scanning the surrounding environment and inserting that into the design model is another exciting avenue. With realism scan data provides there is no need to model the data and the raw points alone can be used. Test cases with Studio Max and Maya have been excellent (rendering 70million scan points was an experience) and now I am keen to see how this works in Revit. 

 

Now just to see how the theory works in practice.


-----------------------------------

Yes, that's a point clound as my avatar

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 19, 2012 at 5:15:16 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#6

KMROB


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 15, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


I have been using point clouds in my Revit models since we purchased a scanner a year ago. I am pleased with how simple it is to insert and start modeling. The only problem our firm is finding is the file size of the scans. A project I am working on now has a 12G point cloud file.  It slows my computer down drastically. Is anyone else having this problem. Any suggestions on computer specs or what size files to work with?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 19, 2012 at 6:58:18 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Is the point cloud linked in?  I would assume it is.  As such, it should be in a separate workset.  Then you can do a reduced workset load with this workset off for most of your work.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 21, 2012 at 3:29:02 PM | Head in the "point" clouds

#8

MCJB


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Hi, I am modeling a 3D from a point cloud model in Revit (without plug-ins) but I'm having some difficulty in the basic procedure of snapping the wall in the Point Cloud. How can I have a plane established from multiple points automatically?? Can you help me?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimensioning to a "Point" at wall intersection in 2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 30, 2008 at 3:41:11 PM

5

head height of window

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 3, 2005 at 11:19:14 PM

2

Spot Elevation/ Level with both "project base point" and "survey point" 2017

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 27, 2017 at 11:33:42 PM

1

Door & HM frame w/ 4" head

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 21, 2007 at 1:05:40 PM

4

Point Cloud Density

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Aug 14, 2011 at 2:23:44 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1794573

Objects:

22510

Forum Posts:

151983

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.9053

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights