RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

428 Users Online (228 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Generic Model - Wall Based - Model wont align to different Wall Thicknesses

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Jul 10, 2011 at 1:34:19 AM | Generic Model - Wall Based - Model wont align to different Wall Thicknesses

#1

pamoroso


active
pamoroso Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 1, 2007
65 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


So I have tried to do the Align and Lock after doing a few searches... I've been flexing the model with different wall thicknesses, but my generic model is made up of multiple parts, some even away from the wall. Some align, others dont, and it just becomes a mess. Am I missing something here? I even tried grouping all the parts into one, and aligning and locking it... no go. 

Any ideas?



Attached Images

94757_fireplace1.jpg

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

 

 

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 10, 2011 at 2:03:43 PM | Generic Model - Wall Based - Model wont align to different Wall Thicknesses

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Wall hosted families are hard to do for new users because they don't understand the associations in revit.  In most cases, you would be better off to create a face based family but in this case, it appears you may also use a wall void. 

 

So to get around these problems, I use a hosting reference plane.  In essence, I create a face based family within the wall host.  I start out by creating this plane far away from the wall.  I don't want anything associating with the wall except for my wall cut or void.  This plane might be 2' away from the wall initially. 

 

I add a parameter to move this plane in relation to the plane of the wall I want to control it from.  This might be a type based parameter or instance.... for example the setback of a masonry door frame from the exterior face of a wall.

 

Now, build your components around this plane.  Test it in the model by adjustig this setback parameter.  For a face based object, the parameter would go to the face of the wall and be 0 when done. 

 

NOTE:  It is hard to add a reference plane after building the components.  Much easier to start with the plane in place.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 10, 2011 at 5:42:43 PM | Generic Model - Wall Based - Model wont align to different Wall Thicknesses

#3

pamoroso


active
pamoroso Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 1, 2007
65 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I figured out a solution. I created a reference plane 2' off the wall. I copied my generic model 4' off the wall. I grouped my generic model, and then aligned and locked to that reference plane. So now that is locked with my reference plane. I created a 'Setback From Wall' parameter, from that reference plane to the face of the wall. Works like a charm with varying wall thicknesses! Smile 

Now my question for the future is... okay I get the idea now that when using wall based families... to start off with a new reference plan off the wall. What do you do for plan extrusion modeling? For example in this family I created... there were a lot of plan extrusions I created that would not be associated with the reference plan. How do I make that reference that vertical plane? Same goes to the sweeps I create off that reference plane?

 

Thanks again!  



Edited on: Sun, Jul 10, 2011 at 12:44:39 PM

-----------------------------------

 

 

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 10, 2011 at 11:23:23 PM | Generic Model - Wall Based - Model wont align to different Wall Thicknesses

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Using a group here is a wrong use of groups.  This could cause slow downs in your project.  You are much better off to learn how to make the components without grouping them.

 

You can have as many reference planes in a model as you need, including horizontal ones.  NOTE: You should always identify these plans .... give them a name.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Convert Generic Model floor based Generic -> Generic Model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 27, 2008 at 8:02:18 PM

2

Colouring of Generic Model Patern Based Wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 12, 2017 at 6:24:32 PM

11

changing type of a family from wall based to face based

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Mar 4, 2010 at 2:24:37 AM

7

Family based wall wrap parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 23, 2010 at 10:50:04 AM

0

dimensioning walls with variable thicknesses

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Jan 19, 2006 at 10:58:32 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1465369

Objects:

20526

Forum Posts:

150602

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5100

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights