RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

25 Users Online (24 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Link AutoCAD into drafting view

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 11:57:26 AM | Link AutoCAD into drafting view

#1

tmassey


active
tmassey Avatar

Joined: Thu, May 19, 2011
167 Posts
No Rating


Rev 2009

Hey is there a shotcut command to link a dwg file into a drafting view..ps I hate 2009 after using 2011


-----------------------------------

Using Revit Architecture 2012

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 12:21:11 PM | Link AutoCAD into drafting view

#2

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


you have to manualy add the shortcut to the KeyboardShortcuts.txt file in 2009 then you have to exit Revit (if open) and restart Revit for it to take effect.

The new feature in 2011 and 12 make the custom quick keys much more user friendly

 

I hope this helps


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 12:44:50 PM | Link AutoCAD into drafting view

#3

tmassey


active
tmassey Avatar

Joined: Thu, May 19, 2011
167 Posts
No Rating


cheers thank you


-----------------------------------

Using Revit Architecture 2012

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 12:48:45 PM | tmassey

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting tmassey from 2011-07-07 11:57:26

"

Rev 2009

Hey is there a shotcut command to link a dwg file into a drafting view..ps I hate 2009 after using 2011

"

why would you hate it. in 2009 it was to you what 2011 is today. i guess you better stay away from 2012 then.



Edited on: Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 12:49:18 PM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 1:18:45 PM | Link AutoCAD into drafting view

#5

tmassey


active
tmassey Avatar

Joined: Thu, May 19, 2011
167 Posts
No Rating


reread my post...

You missed my intent.....I said I hated 2009 after using 2011. I started on 2011 Arch struc and MEP moved to a new firm and they are only on 09. 2009 has a Different interface and missing options that are in 2011. pain in the....so I don't like it.

 


-----------------------------------

Using Revit Architecture 2012

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 1:39:25 PM | Link AutoCAD into drafting view

#6

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I find this interesting. 

 

tmassey: you are the first person I have seen on any site that hates 2009.  I defently understand why since you started on 2011 but when Revit switched UI to the Ribbons in 2010 the amount of frustration from Revit users was and in some cases still is a huge debait.

 

But I guess it only makes sense you are accustom to what you first learn and a change large or small can be a huge hurlde to overcome in either direction.

 

I personaly hate the Ribbons but I am now past that debait and I have customized my shortcut keys to the max so that I only touch the Ribbons as little as possible.  The 2009 UI was more user friendly IMO but the new tools of the newer releases are sweet too.  Now only if they can make Revit run faster, I spend more time waiting on Revit than I do using Revit.  Drives me nuts.


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 1:40:26 PM | Link AutoCAD into drafting view

#7

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


sorry, now i get it and feel your pain. i guess this move was out of your hands. i was wonering why you would hate something you moved on from. i guess Revit truely does not have backward compatability. Smile



Edited on: Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 1:41:05 PM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

link detail drawing from another drafting view in the same project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:14:00 AM

4

Using a callout on a drafting view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 16, 2008 at 10:39:58 AM

1

Flagging new Drafting Views - How to reference a drafting view detail?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 1, 2007 at 10:26:29 AM

5

Possible to "Link Revit" for drafting-view-only .rvt file?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 25, 2013 at 7:30:20 AM

3

Cropping drafting view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 2, 2018 at 3:28:48 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2011573

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152201

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7401

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights