RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

121 Users Online (118 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:13:11 AM | DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

#1

EDOGG


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 18, 2005
6 Posts
No Rating


DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO GET THE MODEL LINES THAT CREATE THE OPENING IN ROOFS TO BECOME INVISIBLE LINES. THE LINEWORK TOOL WON'T WORK ON THESE LINES CREATED IN SKETCH MODE AND i CAN'T FIND A SUBCATEGORY OR PLACE TO MAKE THESE SKETCH LINES INVISIBLE! ANY THOUGHTS?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 22, 2005 at 5:00:05 PM | RE: DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Use join geometry to join the elements and remove excess linework. Provided they are the same material the linework will be removed.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:08:20 AM | RE: DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

#3

EDOGG


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 18, 2005
6 Posts
No Rating


i can't join a roof opening to a roof, it won't select it, even tabbing through options. ugh.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 23, 2005 at 3:09:56 PM | RE: DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


I just tested using the linework tool on the roof opening (After i created it (finished sketch)) and it worked fine. Why on earth would you want to turn the sketch lines off when you are drawing the opening??! Sketch lines are controlled in your lines settings. Turn lines off and your sketch lines will disappear. Still seems like a bizarre question though. Maybe i'm misinterpreting.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 23, 2005 at 3:59:09 PM | RE: DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

#5

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I agree with Mr. Spot that the question is bizarre. For this post and many others I simply don't respond because I have no idea of what the person is talking about, or you know they are heading down a wrong road and don't want to jump in on the discussion. A more proper way to ask things on this forum and others would be to state the desired outcome you are trying to achive, attaching sketches or screen shots and then asking for help on the best way to achive what your goal is without assuming that you have chosen the correct path to begin with. Many times such as this thread I suspect that someone is trying to do something that is best accomplished by a better method. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:23:37 AM | RE: DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

#6

EDOGG


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 18, 2005
6 Posts
No Rating


perhaps i'm not being clear enough. my opening in my roof is showing up as lines in my elevations, roof plans etc. so i have a line going through my windows and etc. lines in my roof framing plans. the invisible linework tool will not recognize these lines to make them go away, join geometry does not work. I do not think that cutting a roof with the dormer opening option is going down the wrong road. If you don't want to answer my question than don't. no need to be rude.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 28, 2005 at 3:41:47 PM | RE: DORMER OPENING LINEWORK?

#7

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Who's being rude? Please don't read any tones in to what anyone has said. I tested use the linework tool on an opening in a roof and it worked fine... Maybe if you can take screenshot of what you want to get rid of or better yet upload a compacted model (delete all irrelevant objects views)...

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dormer Opening Not Defined?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 at 7:53:40 AM

0

Curved Dormer Roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 15, 2011 at 1:31:57 PM

11

Barrel vault dormer opening

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 21, 2007 at 2:22:49 PM

10

Room bounding in a dormer.

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Nov 8, 2013 at 2:57:00 PM

7

DORMER OPENING

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 29, 2007 at 1:34:18 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1987072

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152184

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7336

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights