RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

256 Users Online (103 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Electrical and Plumbing Schemes

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 22, 2005 at 3:41:03 PM | Electrical and Plumbing Schemes

#1

jmfrico


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 30, 2005
5 Posts
No Rating


Dear sirs, I am trying to evaluate Revit to see it it can replace Autocad and Microstation and I have a doubt. In ACAD I use to draw plumbing and electrical sheets, drawing piping and eletrical lines. Which is the best solution in Revit to draw these lines, pure drafting, components...?. Also I would like to know how to covert ACAD blocks into Revit Families. Thanks in advance, Javier M. Rico Architect Madrid, Spain

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:04:39 PM | RE: Electrical and Plumbing Schemes

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Sounds like a good decision... It all depends on the size of the project, if your talking houses and its going to be beneficial i'd model the services, i'm also modelling the services on a high rise project we are doing at the moment. But really it depends on your own workflows and processes. Are they 3D ACAD blocks, you can import dwg into revit families and use them in that manner. However you'd lose the advantage of the parametrics of true revit families. So as a short term solution you could do that, and a long term solution recreate them in revit to be parametric.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:47:35 PM | RE: Electrical and Plumbing Schemes

#3

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


you can go full drafting in Revit with no problems, I always try to strike a balance between investing time in a 3D model and 2D drafting, next releases of Revit will have far better drafting tools and will be geared towards documantation... any which way, Revit is still a better choice than AutoCAD! Smile

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

2014 HVAC and Plumbing shows on ribbon but no Electrical - All are checked

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 7, 2016 at 9:55:02 PM

2

electrical symbol families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 5, 2020 at 8:57:35 AM

2

Electrical in the browser

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 23, 2013 at 6:20:58 PM

2

plumbing

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 7, 2009 at 7:37:35 AM

0

area color schemes

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Jan 27, 2012 at 6:07:13 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1668655

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0749

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights