RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

202 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit running slow on my computer

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Nov 21, 2005 at 2:39:02 AM | Revit running slow on my computer

#1

unicorn


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 7, 2005
41 Posts
No Rating


Hi, I have an intel P4 3.2ghz, 1 Ghz RAM desktop and finding this is running annoyingly slow... whats the best way to give it speed... our tech. person, (who doesn't know much about Revit) has suggested the following: Dual core CPU RAID hard drives 2.0 gig RAM Anyone have any suggestions?

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 21, 2005 at 2:52:39 AM | RE: Revit running slow on my computer

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 91 Votes


How big is the file you are working on? Your system should handle most files upto 50-60MB fine. Providing you have a half decent video card. Make sure you're not keeping excessive views open. Use the window-->Close hidden windows command to close them occassionally. If your using worksets only open parts of the model that you need to edit/relate to. Make sure you don't have lots of 2D linework in views. As linework is parametric its always looking for relationships. Its actually less impact on a model to draw walls that lines... The RAM is your biggest limiting factor at the moment, for files over 60MB definitely consider 2G RAM. HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:49:48 PM | RE: Revit running slow on my computer

#3

vnd


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2004
97 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Mr. Spot, thans for reply, but what would be a decent video card to have?

-----------------------------------
VND

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:53:30 PM | RE: Revit running slow on my computer

#4

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


That's a very sore subject for me at the moment... Sad check out this thread on Augi: http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?p=226004#post226004 it appears that there is no big difference between a $100 with openGL support and a $1000 with openGL...

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 13, 2010 at 2:26:56 PM | Revit running slow on my computer

#5

EndersChild


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 3, 2009
1 Posts
No Rating


I have a frustrating problem similar to yours. I work with revit on two different computers: The ones at my school and the one at home. The school computers are the typical garbage: 1.2 GHz processor, 1/2 gig of ram, no graphics card to speak of. Mine however:

4 Gigs RAM

500 Gigs Hard Drive space 

ATI Radeon 1650 PRO

 2 gigs dedicated graphics memory

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+

Someone please tell me: why is REvit running MUCH slower on my computer than on the school's?



Edited on: Wed, Jan 13, 2010 at 8:29:10 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 13, 2010 at 2:49:32 PM | Revit running slow on my computer

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


One question, did you turn ON the "OpenGL or Direct3d" in your "Home Revit"?

 



Edited on: Wed, Jan 13, 2010 at 1:27:58 PM

Attached Images

71080_Graphics.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 13, 2010 at 10:22:44 PM | Revit running slow on my computer

#7

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


I cannot reccomend enabling openGL.  On our computers it was constantly messing with the depth clipping.  I don't know how or why.  panning and zooming for a short time in an elevation view would enable "clipping without line."

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 7:13:18 PM | Revit running slow on my computer

#8

demilieu


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 14, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


i'm not able to get revit 2010 to reliably open a family object for viewing or editing. i get kicked out when i try to open a family objet-no matter how small.  i'm seeing the processor is only maxing at 15% when the program locks up.

 

i'm using a dell inspiron 700m notebook with a 2 gig processor.  2 gb of ram at 1/2 gig speed, 40 gig free hd space, wiindows xp os, and have removed most everything i can from msconfig at startup.  it's an old machine i guess but according to autodesk the program should run ok so long as i keep the files small and don't render.

 

any suggestions?  the max ram the machine can run is 2 gig.  the only thing i'm seeing is maybe the processor is too slow...but it's later than a pentium 4.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 26, 2010 at 12:42:55 AM | Revit running slow on my computer

#9

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


The laptop probably has a crappy onboard videocard.  Laptop sellers always gloss over that rather important component, or neglect to mention it among the features, and throw in some cheap onboard video that struggles with youtube... 

 

If that's not the case and it's decently powerful, you'll want to try updating your drivers, first.  Nothing is released as frequently as graphics drivers, and if the computer is several years old, that software is very obsolete.  Look for the card type under system properties or device manager, or google your laptop make and model.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2013 Running Slow

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 9, 2013 at 3:19:26 AM

4

Revit 2013 running slow - anyone have the same issues?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 1, 2014 at 7:37:56 PM

8

WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 4, 2007 at 7:43:19 AM

5

Revit Running Super Slow, Powerful Brand New Computer

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 at 1:12:35 AM

3

revit running slow

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 15, 2010 at 8:40:52 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1458167

Objects:

20466

Forum Posts:

150555

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5932

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights