RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

145 Users Online (60 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Linked Revit Models and Visibility

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 4:23:13 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#1

tampac66


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 31, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Hi everyone. I am currently doing renderings for another architect and i am having some trouble.  The file is made up of about 8 revit links which make up the campus.  When i open the Revit file the only views that i can see anything in are camera views and elevations. Floor plans and the default 3D view are blank. Ive tried everything i can  think to try in the visibility graphics and a few other things.

If anyone knows whats going on and how i can make everything show up that would be great.

 

If not, I think my next option is just to combine everything into a single revit file without links.    Is there anyway to simply take a linked file and make it a permanent part of the site file? What is the most simple way to go about doing this?

 

THanks in advance!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 4:34:13 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


You need copies of all the linked files.  Do you have those?

 

If you do have the files but can't see the linked files, then you probably have a path problem.  Open your file and manage the links to reload them from where they are on your system.



Edited on: Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 11:42:13 AM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 5:11:16 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#3

tampac66


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 31, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


I tried remapping them and still the same issue.

 

I can see them all in the camera views but in any other view its just blank.

 

Is there any way to make them a part of the site file and remove the link without copying each building from its file and pasting it?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 5:42:12 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Check the VG settings for the views in question.  The linked files might be off.  They could also be hidden in view ( use reveal hidden elements) and finally, they could be on seperate worksets which are turned off in view.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 6:24:28 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#5

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Phase filters could also be a possibility for why they're not showing. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 6:32:40 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#6

tampac66


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 31, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Still no success.

 

Is there no easy way to make a revit link simply become part of the project?

 

For the purposes of cleaning the file up for export to 3ds max it would be easier to work this way anyway.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 6:45:41 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


It is bind.... Search your HELP:>   BIND


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 9:10:53 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#8

tampac66


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 31, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


It turns out that Revit had just zoomed out in the view about 50000000 times   and zoom to fit would do anything.

 

I ended up drawing a model line that was 10,000 ft long so i could see where the project was and zoom into it.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 11, 2011 at 1:41:54 PM | Linked Revit Models and Visibility

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


The problem that caused this extreme size is probably a CAD file, maybe a site?

 

Glad you found your problem.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Visibility Graphics - Linked Models

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 4, 2013 at 12:31:13 PM

1

View Filters and Linked Models

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 12:53:31 AM

2

Visibility in Nested (Attached) Linked Models

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 8:44:29 AM

2

Elevation visibility in linked models

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 at 3:54:38 PM

2

Visibility of linked revit file in different views?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 14, 2017 at 6:11:18 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1819660

Objects:

22573

Forum Posts:

152003

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7590

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights