RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

191 Users Online (87 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Arched concrete beam

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 6:07:28 PM | Arched concrete beam

#1

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


In Revit Structure

I need to create a couple elements for a project, both are ~30"dia conc. beams that will start at ground level atop a retaining wall and they will arch about 80'-120' out and end on the ground below. There will both be almost connected at the start and array at different angles, but will both be tilted to one side (away from each other). There will also be fabric of sorts that spans across them to create a covered stage below.

Any pointers on how I can do this in Revit? I would like to export this to RISA when done for structural analysis (engineer isn't using Revit yet). Otherwise I'll be modeling this in Sketchup and have no analysis to show for it.

Thank you!!!

-Phil-


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 6:15:45 PM | Arched concrete beam

#2

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Not seeing a sketch of this structure I would start by creating workplanes for the intended arches. Name the workplanes create perpendicular workplanes and name them. Then use the view framing elevation tool which will snap to the workplanes and give you normal views of the workplanes. Then use Component Model in Place Sweep Extrusion create the path first and finish the path then go to the framing elevation that will look normal to the path and be at the center. create the profile of the beam finish with concrete as the material.

If you have curves in two directions this will be tougher, you can get an approximation by creating multiple paths and using sweep blend with differing elevations. Kinda like the attached.



Edited on: Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 1:19:11 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 8:15:45 PM | Arched concrete beam

#3

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thank you, I will give this a try! I appreciate you taking the time to reply!

-Phil-


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 8:58:53 PM | Arched concrete beam

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


something like this?  I was a little unclear.  But there's no need to take it to Sketchup, revit can do more complex geometry than that program.



Attached Images

93449_arches.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 9:02:55 PM | Arched concrete beam

#5

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Did you use the method MBSteve described, or did you use another method? And will this be able to use any analysis?


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 9:04:03 PM | Arched concrete beam

#6

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Also, is the geometry easily editable, or should you already know what angles and lengths you want before beginning this process?

Thanks again!


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 9:09:53 PM | Arched concrete beam

#7

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


I doubt you could analyze this.  But I have no experience with structure.  This is a modeled in place sweep, and I use revit arch. same principles, maybe the program you export to will understand. 

 

The steps I went through to create this was:  Make a sweep or revolve with the arch you want, from the retaining wall/stage to the ground. 

 

create a thin void sweep from the outside to the center, at the angle you want, in *elevation*, and any addition curve you might want in plan.  make it very tall in profile so it cleanly slices through all your donut.

 

When finsihed and cut, it'll provide a clean cut line that you can use to "Pick Path" for your next sweep, being the 30" tube. 

 

you can then copy and array this tube sweep as you see fit.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 9:14:51 PM | Arched concrete beam

#8

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


it would be better to know what you want, first, or else you'll have to update your first beam redo the array, I think.  unless they're grouped... but groups are finicky, especially with sweeps...  You could also make one beam as a family, and then updating it would be a relative breeze. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

curved concrete beam

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 at 11:10:21 PM

2

Concrete Beam and Slab

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 3, 2013 at 7:47:31 PM

2

Arched Cellular beam Problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 7, 2011 at 12:54:25 PM

2

opening in concrete beam

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 18, 2022 at 4:38:56 PM

3

Rectangular Concrete Beam in Section

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 10, 2015 at 7:22:38 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1779622

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151940

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 15.1266

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights