RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

160 Users Online (59 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Creating a 'cave' in topography

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 1:40:30 PM | Creating a 'cave' in topography

#1

battlejack


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 10, 2011
1 Posts
No Rating


Hey all

having an issue with Revit '11 lately. Basically i have a clifface topography and i want to pretty much cut a cave into the topography so i can have a a few rooms 'in' the cliff. Building pads aren't giving me any success because they cut all the way up the face, i.e. not just a hole in the cliff.

any help would be appreicated.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 2:51:36 PM | Creating a 'cave' in topography

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


How about a pad for your structure then add another site above in the cut area above.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 7:10:02 PM | Creating a 'cave' in topography

#3

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Cut a small slit in the topography.  drastically change the elevations on both sides of the cut in the topo, to match your slope, and voila, a cave entrance. 

 

Dunno.  Kinda a crude work-around. 



Attached Images

93432_cave.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 12:55:42 AM | Creating a 'cave' in topography

#4

nastyclown


active
nastyclown Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 14, 2009
273 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Im assuming this is not a "real world " scenario, so the faster way to do a cave is making it in another program (like 3dmax, maya, xsi  and so on) and after that import that geometry into revit. Seek on the forum for that topic, there is a threads of that theme.

Also, if you are designing the cave like a house, its going to be better making floors, add furniture, etc,. then import that into another program (to have it as a reference) , and THEN create the "cave" .


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Tough one - Phased site topography and visibility in section

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 4:58:34 AM

6

Creating a 'Jogged' Section Line

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Dec 11, 2007 at 2:26:06 PM

2

sloped Topography

Community >> The Studio

Sun, Oct 22, 2006 at 2:57:25 PM

0

Creating curb that conforms to a topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 2, 2012 at 2:15:31 PM

13

Creating levels below topography/raising topography?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 6:22:50 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1779596

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151940

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4869

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights