RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

69 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Boolean expressions with TEXT parameters

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 5:23:22 PM | Boolean expressions with TEXT parameters

#1

iamian33


active
iamian33 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 17, 2009
148 Posts
No Rating


Greetings.

I am using RAC 2011 to develop a Room Finish Schedule that places symbols in the schedule to represent finishes.  Sometimes the schedule cell needs to be filled with a symbol (①, ②, ③, ... Ⓐ, Ⓑ, Ⓒ) and sometimes it needs to remain blank. 

{before anyone suggests alternative types of finish schedules ... thanks, but I've already tried to convince the 'powers that be' but they like their schedule the way it is ... }

I am trying to add a Boolean expression with a TEXT parameter that will allow the user to enter a value (1, 2, 3, ... a, b, c, ...) and the schedule will show (return) a result of ①, ②, ③, ... Ⓐ, Ⓑ, Ⓒ.  I am using the following expression:

if(TEST = 0, "⃝", if(TEST = 1, "①", "WRONG"))   ... TEST is an Integer parameter.  Entering either 0 or 1 works, and all other responses result in 'WRONG'.  But I cannot blank the field once it has a value.  If the user enters the wrong value and needs to 'blank' out the field, returning it to an untouched state,  the only way to blank the field is to enter a negative number (-1, -2, -3, ....)  

I'd like to use a TEXT parameter but cannot get the expression to work at all - I'm unable to find the correct syntac to evaluate a 'nul' response.   

I have reviewed many threads, include this one http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=6562 but I've not been able to program my way out of this.

If I need to have a blank cell, will I be doomed to have to keep a field untouched or enter a negative number? 

 


-----------------------------------

Ian Shafer

Principal Consultant

True North S&F Consultants

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 26, 2011 at 1:58:44 PM | Boolean expressions with TEXT parameters

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 390 Votes


First - the help says "Conditional statements can contain numeric values, numeric parameter names, and Yes/No parameters."  Note that text is not included.

 

Have you tried a null string?  "  "

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 26, 2011 at 2:16:36 PM | Boolean expressions with TEXT parameters

#3

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


It took a little time, but I think I see what your problem is. I'm farly certain that the answer is no, once you have 'touched' your integer parameter there is no way to return it to a null value.

 

I've seen the same thing happen with project Yes/No parameters. The box is gray (null, the schedule treats it as unchecked) until I do anything with it. After that my options are on or off. Granted, this doesn't cause the problems you are having, but it does shaw that it's not an isolated incedent.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 26, 2011 at 2:31:37 PM | Boolean expressions with TEXT parameters

#4

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


First off, as your aware, for some strange reason, Autodesk hasn't considered allowing symbols to show up in a schedule...  Thus, it is IMPOSSIBLE to automate what you are wanting.  Best approach is to program your own family as it appears you are doing, and even there, you are limited as to what you can do.  In past projects, we have created an empty circle symbol, and just dropped them over the text value shown, so for example, keynotes, we let it schedule them, then drop the circle down on top of them.

Consider selling the powers that be, that you put an example in the title, the circle around the example, and then don't have to put circles around each entry.  Sell this point though, by removing a circle around each item, you are reducing the amount of ink used, and thus saving the company some nominal amount on the dollar!

One last thing, If you are using a font, like the circles that you show below, then you can totally do this, like if you use wingdings, etc. then you can accomplish what you are looking to do.  What parameter type is accepting this expression?  Because it should be a text parameter.

if(Circle Radius = 0'  0 1/4", "True", "False")

I just applied the above to a text parameter and it worked, thus the theory is sound.  Post your functions if you don't mind, so we can figure out WHY this is behaving the way it is.

 

@wwhub, the help is misleading, you can assign values to any type of parameter, but you can only use expressions from certain types, text not being one of them.  thus I could say:  Text Parameter = if(Integer Parameter > 0, "We are greater than Zero", "We are not greater than Zero")...  Just trying to clarify!


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 26, 2011 at 3:17:01 PM | Boolean expressions with TEXT parameters

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 390 Votes


A point of clarification,

 

First, Revit allows symbols - that is symbols that are included in the CHARMAP of the font you have assigned for your schedule.

 

Second - The null string works to clear the result field with an improper entry.    However, I really think iamian wanted to know how to clear the Test field.  Once entered, I don't know how to clear this field short of making this column a calculated text field as well and hiding the actual input field.

 

Third, Revit's y/n results are implied, you don't have to assign True / False.  As it clearly shows in the HELP:>

"IF with Yes/No condition: =Length > 40 (Note that both the condition and the results are implied.)  

 

And finally, Revits Help is very clear thetabest:> "Conditional statements can contain numeric values, numeric parameter names, and Yes/No parameters."    <----Means the conditional statement itself can not contain text....it does not talk about the resulting parameter, that can be anything.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 26, 2011 at 4:59:09 PM | Boolean expressions with TEXT parameters

#6

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Thanks as always for tidying up, its still on my wishlist to be able to graphicly show my annotations in a schedule (actually, how about more customizable schedules, with more options?). 

Perhaps an empty string?  Now that I understand better what you are desiring, "" <- like that?  so If(blah, "blah", "")

This is an empty string... therefore it should be back to the NULL condition.

GL


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

String Values in Formulas

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 4, 2013 at 10:38:12 PM

6

if statement question

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 4, 2014 at 10:51:10 AM

1

Boolean Operations in Schedule Fields

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 20, 2008 at 4:39:15 PM

1

Watts vs. Kilo-watts in Revit Arch 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 10:05:10 AM

0

Bookend Room Schedule with Room Number

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 18, 2016 at 10:53:02 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1996398

Objects:

22885

Forum Posts:

152178

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5635

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights