RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

166 Users Online (90 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rotating Items on X-axis

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 10:30:34 AM | Rotating Items on X-axis

#1

mikee1979


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 7, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


I was hoping someone could help me get around what I thought would be fairly straightforward.

If you look at the attached image, all I'm trying to do is basically rotate some plasma screens so they are at an angle as depicted in the image. Rotating the screens in an elevation view seemed logical but it won't allow me to do it. I've tried setting up a ref plane at angle for the plasma to be placed on but still can't seem to make it work.

I must be missing something obvious here, if anyone could help it would be much apopreciated.

 

Thanks

 

 



Attached Images

92563_example.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 11:38:46 AM | Rotating Items on X-axis

#2

mikee1979


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 7, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


Been doing some research and this seems to be a common problem, trying to rotate in an elevation. I've made a plasma screen family (under Furniture, made sure always vertical is unticked) and it still won't rotate in elevation. There seems to be no definite answer to how to get around this as the always vertical button which is the suggested method does'nt seem to do alot. I've attached the plasma screen family, is there something I'm still missing to be able to rotate it in elevation?

 

 



This user is offline

 

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 12:12:04 PM | Rotating Items on X-axis

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 347 Votes


You problem is that this family is level based and the elements are fixed to a vertical plane.  The builder should have used a non-hosted generic tempate.  You might be able to adjust this family but it would be far better to create a new one.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 3:43:22 PM | Rotating Items on X-axis

#4

mikee1979


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 7, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the feedback, I've managed to angle one plasma screen at last, but it's still a pain trying to get the plasma screens to fit how I like. 

After getting one screen in the correct place and angle (I used a ref plane in the end), I tried to make an array of them, this ended up with the plasma screens rotated at all different angles, looking a complete mess. I can't understand how this is so difficult.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 5:46:43 PM | Rotating Items on X-axis

#5

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


I'd make that a face-based family, and apply it to a revolve that you then delete, or slice up to form your armature thing there.   It would resolve having to rotate anything!


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 5:51:31 PM | Rotating Items on X-axis

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 347 Votes


Carefull ... hosted elements require their host to exist.  Delete the host and the element goes with it.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 5:56:39 PM | Rotating Items on X-axis

#7

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Here's an extremely sophisticated 5 minute sketch of what I think you might be looking for.  you'd need a couple types of TVs however. 

 

And with voids, you could turn your revolve (or circular sweep) into the armature for the TVs, to get around having to hide or delete it.

 

Edit:  It'd make more sense to model one piece of curved backing, and one column of TVs, and then group them to do a radial array.   That'd save you time. 

 



Edited on: Wed, May 25, 2011 at 1:19:02 PM

Attached Images

92595_TVs.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

rotating in Y axis?

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Feb 13, 2013 at 9:30:01 PM

4

Rotating mullions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 9:27:53 PM

1

objects move in Y-axis but not X-axis

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 3, 2005 at 5:04:31 AM

1

Axis in elevation is funky

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 25, 2009 at 6:07:48 PM

7

Rotating Family Geometry around XYZ axis's

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 20, 2016 at 11:43:14 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1423821

Objects:

20413

Forum Posts:

150478

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1879

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights