RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

83 Users Online (82 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> 2012

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Mon, May 16, 2011 at 10:48:15 PM | 2012

#1

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


okay it's been a couple of weeks now i guess..

has anyone found justification for spending

several thousand dollars on 2012? forget

about the party line propagands- i just

want to know if anything is there..

 

don't all post at once..


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 17, 2011 at 11:01:04 AM | 2012

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


point clouds, subscription, integrated worksharing, 3d view lock and tags, energy analysis, creative evolution, IPD team management, parts and assemblies

 

wait a sec, are we just talking about Revit Arch 2012? MEP or struct? Cuz I can add more.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 17, 2011 at 3:24:22 PM | 2012

#3

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


subscription? lol- i cancelled mine when the ribbon appeared..

 

better team work? yeah that's good..

 

parts and assemblies? is that where revit is gonna start building car motors?

 

energy analysis? al gore would like that one.. (while he's eating a hamburger)..

 

3d view lock? gimmie that..

 

point clouds? is that like where you can make an exact copy of new

architecture in one city and sell it in another and hope you don't get caught?

 

thanks alabaster2513

 

BTW- i don't have a "3d mental lock" on any release- ribbon or no ribbon..

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 17, 2011 at 6:53:39 PM | 2012

#4

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


lol i suggest you download the free 30 trial and see for yourself.

 

and try to let go of your anger at the ribbon, once you get use to using it... it works perfectly fine.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 18, 2011 at 12:21:38 AM | alabaster2513

#5

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting alabaster2513 from 2011-05-17 18:53:39

"

lol i suggest you download the free 30 trial and see for yourself.

 

and try to let go of your anger at the ribbon, once you get use to using it... it works perfectly fine.

"

i tore revit 2012 apart piece by piece several weeks before it was released to

the general revit population..

 

so let me get this straight: with me constantly opening a separate session of

revit for critical support while working on a project- i should- (according to

your thinking)- simply "get use to"- waiting exactly TWICE the time to get

a session of revit up and running? can you get use to driving 35 in a 70?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 18, 2011 at 7:00:40 PM | 2012

#6

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


i will make this statement for all the more intelligent

revit users who are concerned about what i have posted

here..

 

it is possible- (although i prefer not)- to open as many

other revit projects as you want in one session of revit-

no waiting for the ribbon to start up for that purpose..

(the ribbon is an external program riding on top of

the native UI- that's why it takes so much time to

load- and of course the native UI is still there)..

 

like i have posted here before- i am not "locked" into

any revit release.. i am not fighting the ribbon- i can

also use the ribbon.. but contrary to popular belief-

and autodesk marketing plans- the native UI- (classic)-

has worked perfectly with 2010 and 2011.. and for someone

who was already experienced with the native UI- there

was no logical reason to move to the ribbon until it

was fully developed in its third version- (2012)..

 

i think it's really only been the newbies and the revit

users with less intelligence that have accused the

logical users of fighting the ribbon.. besides- it's

not a bad idea to wait for update 1 with any new

release.. i've seen nonsense questions like: "how

am i going to finish my 2011 project and still be

able to jump right into 2012?".. nonsense.. lol

 

but it's still all good..

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 12:47:10 AM | 2012

#7

Sven


active

Joined: Mon, May 28, 2007
40 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


not happy about the serious hardware upgrades required... what is it - quad core and 8Gb RAM? anyone using less than that with 2012 and being productive?


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 8:58:56 AM | 2012

#8

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


i've got 2011 and 2012 on an old 65 nanometer

intel processor and both on a faster 45 nanometer

processor.. and it's also finally time to buy the new

intel 32 nanometer "sandy bridge".. that has on-chip

video..

 

and i'm not digging out any older computers than

that to see if it will run 2012..

 

so i don't know about any "hardware upgrades required"..

 

i know i could use a 15,000 rpm hard drive instead of

the slow 10,000 rpm drive i have now.. (i'm still skeptical

about SSD).. i've got 8gb of memory but memory is

dirt cheap right now so i'll just get 16gb..

 

i first need a new chair that i seem to throw away

every year.. and if you are using the ribbon

i guess you would want the widest display they

make so you can have the properties dialog open

on one side and the browser open on the other..

(maybe that open properties dialog somehow

justifies everything else that's slow about the

ribbon)..

i'm still holding with a 1440x900 display that works

best with the 2011 classic UI- (that i won't be

giving up too soon).. 

 

 

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 2:16:01 PM | 2012

#9

Bm3875


active
Bm3875 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 18, 2005
140 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Citrix integration, Revit Server


-----------------------------------

Brandon Pike | Owner/BIM Specialist

Photo

cad.web.print

website: http://www.thinkdesign-studios.com

blog: http://www.bimtionary.blogspot.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 4:05:37 PM | 2012

#10

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Don't forget the GUID in the Revit.ini file, allowing you to adjust and change immediately (well, next time someone opens a session of Revit) their configuration.  Thus if you are in a larger company, you can modify the locations to have each central file for each project, and as you add/remove projects, you change it in one place, and don't have to bother touching each and every person's computer, as you would now (unless you've thought of better ways?).

And unfortunately, and I hate saying this, but shell up, Autodesk has us all by the family jewels, and until some upstart creates a better application and DOESN'T sell it to Autodesk for profit, AND this upstart is ready to actually lock horns with Autodesk, we are screwed, and the best bang for your buck is unfortunately subscription.  IF you aren't on subscription, then you are using an older version, and guess what?  They stopped working on ANY improvements to your version in Novemberish of the year in which you purchased your product.  Thus you don't have ANY fixes relating to new operating systems, to new anything.  And even better, YOU will have to shell out even more to get the most current version.

One more feature, PARALLEL CONDUITS!


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 6:51:12 PM | 2012

#11

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


thetabest- that's good thinking- i'm impressed..

 

i hate to say this because i do support autodesk and

i wish them well- but the truth is- they have started

taking revit down the wrong road.. and it started with

the ribbon.. i realize the newbies like those jumbo-sized

icons that don't react instantly and have to be buried

under other icons because they are so big- and they ARE

pretty that's for sure- but those newbies don't understand

what it's like really getting into a project.. i test render constantly 

to see what i'm building- i constantly open families and

DWG sketches and work there while something is

rendering.. but i can't do that with the ribbon..

because the ribbon takes EXACTLY twice as long

to start up.. it's just too slow..

 

and now apparently autodesk has resorted to-

(what i call "fraud")- with misrepresentation by

omission.. autodesk will not respond to the question:

"is the native UI still there for 2012 or is it not?"

 

so until some "hacker" figures out how to enable

the classic UI for 2012- (like was the only reason autodesk

finally admitted it was there for 2010)- i have no choice

but to make due with 2011 until an "upstart is ready"..

 

i thought this might be coming- that they would not

be able to make the ribbon perform with any speed..

that's why i was praying just days before getting 2011

for the first time that the native UI would be there again..

fortunately it was- because 2011 is a landmark release..

i know a lot of people don't believe me- (and i wouldn't

have believed it a few years ago myself)- but i can see

where it's possible for SOME companies to stay with 2011

until that new virtual construction program that has nothing

to do with autodesk arrives..

 

the subscription program is an okay idea- but not the way

autodesk has been trying to FORCE revit users to join it

and stay with it..

 

i cancelled my subscription soon after the ribbon appeared-

and for 2011 i purchased several seats for $3700 each- 

out-the-door..

 

i would have no problem paying $5000 for revit if autodesk

would stop listening to those marketing monkeys and start

listening to the customer..

 

 

and don't let anyone try to tell you that anything important is

missing using the native UI for 2011- only in the conceptual

massing part is anything missing..

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 8:42:58 PM | 2012

#12

GEMINIHOMES


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 29, 2010
5 Posts
No Rating


 

We just switched to the Revit Architecture 2012 today and first error. Visibility setting for some families is changing when I am opening 2011 files.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 9:16:51 PM | GEMINIHOMES

#13

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting GEMINIHOMES from 2011-05-19 20:42:58

"

 

We just switched to the Revit Architecture 2012 today and first error. Visibility setting for some families is changing when I am opening 2011 files.

"

 

every new release has bugs like that until update 1 is finished..

consider youself something like a beta tester for release 2012

until then..


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 20, 2011 at 4:14:06 PM | 2012

#14

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Vector I was simply giving you my opinion, its not my fault your response shows you know nothing of the new release. Don't ask a stupid question then talk curse when you get an honest answer.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 20, 2011 at 7:50:51 PM | 2012

#15

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


thanks for the invitation alabaster- but i'm a little tied-up at the moment..


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

"auto" open in Revit 2012, when you have both 2012 and 2013

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sun, Jul 12, 2015 at 4:52:17 PM

5

Revit 2012 crashes at splash screen HELP!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 17, 2013 at 1:13:24 PM

4

quick 2012 question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 25, 2011 at 2:13:07 PM

3

Flat roof with sloped edges! HELP! Revit 2012!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 6:34:15 AM

12

Where have my templates gone in 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 7, 2012 at 9:09:06 AM

9

Site Stats

Members:

2017814

Objects:

22948

Forum Posts:

152213

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 13.7252

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights