RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

240 Users Online (99 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> ROTATE ELEMENT

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, May 12, 2011 at 7:57:28 PM | ROTATE ELEMENT

#1

twade


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 11, 2009
12 Posts
No Rating


I know I must be missing something, but I cannot rotate a channel 90 degrees to use as a girt. I also found out I cannot rotate a beam that way either.  Surely there must be a way to rotate the member, can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks....Terry


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 12, 2011 at 8:54:58 PM | ROTATE ELEMENT

#2

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Yes you can, if you have a beam placed  on the model, then select the beam and choose edit workplane under the option bar and pick any vertical plane (or reference plane)

that's it


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 13, 2011 at 6:42:08 PM | ROTATE ELEMENT

#3

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


In plan view when selected the properties box should allow you to rotate the object under cross section rotation, may work in elevation as well but does not seem to be available in section.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 13, 2011 at 11:18:38 PM | ROTATE ELEMENT

#4

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


mbsteve,

Cool trick, it works on section and even 3D view as well

I have used beam system as girt before, just have to edit the work plane (to the vertical plane) of the beam system and you can lay the entire wall with girt.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 16, 2011 at 1:15:08 PM | ROTATE ELEMENT

#5

twade


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 11, 2009
12 Posts
No Rating


Mbsteve  Thank You so much,  I knew there had to be something simple I was missing and it was driving me crazy.  This  has now allowed me the correct orientation.

 

Thanks.......Terry


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Cannot Rotate Element Into This Position?! [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 8:01:08 AM

15

help! How can I...

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Apr 14, 2009 at 6:10:36 AM

1

rotate the entire model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 21, 2011 at 3:18:55 PM

14

PLEASE HELP! ROTATING AN ELEMENT ON A RAMP (Revit 2014)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 9, 2014 at 7:43:28 PM

7

3d rotate

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 28, 2018 at 12:16:26 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1457029

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1954

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights