RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

164 Users Online (75 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sketch up

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 8:36:02 PM | Sketch up

#1

jamthumps


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 2, 2005
10 Posts
No Rating


Does anybody out there use sketch up? We do alot of "theming" elements that are done very easily in sketch up. Woulkd love to hear from someone that uses it and maybe has convention of using both revit and sketch elements. i.e. sketch up elements into revit, materials from sketch up , adding materialis to sketch up elements, etc. Would appreciate any insight as I lead our office into developing a new process of design work with using both of of the softwares. Thanks

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 9:20:14 PM | RE: Sketch up

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 90 Votes


I've made use of sketchup in some presentation work before. The typical processes was to do with exporting out of revit to sketch up though, and no the materials don't come with it (from memory). Importing sketchup into revit would be best done as a mass so you replace the sketch up elements with intelligent revit elements.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 9:21:58 PM | RE: Sketch up

#3

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


We use Sketchup a little in our office. It is a great piece of software, but until recently I thought of the process of starting in SketchUp then going to Revit. Then in our last Revit users group meeting we were shown some examples of taking the Revit model to SketchUp and using the toolset in SketchUp for doing non-rendered material studies, walk-thru's, xray views which are things that SketchUp is very good at while still keeing the main modeling task to Revit. You can take SketchUp to Revit via a Revit family by exporting out of Sketchup to dwg and then insert the dwg into Revit family like any other dwg. See the tutorial on this site for procedure. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 9:30:59 PM | RE: Sketch up

#4

jamthumps


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 2, 2005
10 Posts
No Rating


Thanks. If think of anything else I would appreciate it so I minimize mistakes. Do you know if the paint bucket in Revit is 2d fills only or can it be applied on masses. I think I am not quite grasping the material aspects of Revit because I have the concepts of sketch up in my head. Thanks again.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 9:33:59 PM | RE:

#5

jamthumps


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 2, 2005
10 Posts
No Rating




You can take SketchUp to Revit via a Revit family by exporting out of Sketchup to dwg and then insert the dwg into Revit family like any other dwg. See the tutorial on this site for procedure.

Tom

Do you mean the tutorail named

How to grow your family: Making use of models created in 3D studio or AutoCAD by: maxlloyd?

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 9:45:08 PM | RE: Sketch up

#6

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Yes, I believe that it the one. Tom P.S. Where is the quote feature on this site????

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 9:48:49 PM | RE: Sketch up

#7

jamthumps


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 2, 2005
10 Posts
No Rating


Thanks. The quote feature is in the forum on, each box it has a quote button in order to respond to specific responds.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 at 9:51:34 PM | RE:

#8

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Quoting jamthumps - 2005-11-16 15:48:49

"Thanks. The quote feature is in the forum on, each box it has a quote button in order to respond to specific responds."




Wow.......I can't believe that in 2.5 years I never noticed it on this forum!!!!!

Now where are those little icons with a red face??

Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 15, 2007 at 7:21:32 PM | Sketch up

#9

Jukeboxjerry


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 31, 2005
1 Posts
No Rating


Mr. Spot said: "The typical processes was to do with exporting out of revit to sketch up though"

I am having a difficult time trying to figure out how to import Revit files into sketchup. I've imported from sketchup to Revit but not the other way around. 

Do I have to export my Revit model out as something else, like a dwg, to do this? Please help!

 

Thanks,

Juke 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 15, 2007 at 7:49:47 PM | TomDorner

#10

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting TomDorner from 2005-11-16 15:51:34

"

Quoting jamthumps - 2005-11-16 15:48:49

"Thanks. The quote feature is in the forum on, each box it has a quote button in order to respond to specific responds."

Wow.......I can't believe that in 2.5 years I never noticed it on this forum!!!!!Now where are those little icons with a red face??Tom"
i can't believe it either, Tom

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 15, 2007 at 11:46:50 PM | Sketch up

#11

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


yes, export to dwg. it doesn't bring in materials though, but it looks cool.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Question about sketch Mode

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 18, 2013 at 12:34:56 AM

3

Revit into Sketch-up?

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Feb 17, 2010 at 7:08:26 PM

1

Creating Sketch Sheets and linking revision tags to Original sheet...

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jul 14, 2017 at 4:16:31 PM

14

curtain wall sketch snapping problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 12, 2009 at 1:54:07 PM

8

Sketch up to revit

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 26, 2013 at 12:31:17 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1416998

Objects:

20398

Forum Posts:

150459

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1003

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights