RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

259 Users Online (112 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 12:48:25 AM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#1

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Hi all,

Anyone know of a way to change the line weight of a crop region? We are printing with crop regions visible on lots of sheets, and would love to be able to maniputlate the stantard lineweight. The goal is to make them thicker, since by default they are more or less thin-lines.

Thanks!

(Revit Architecture 2011)


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 1:00:40 AM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#2

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Automatically, no. Manually, yes. Go to you sheet, select the viewport and override graphics in view, select element and adjust projection line weight. I am using RAC2010


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 2:35:04 AM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#3

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


only way i know also.  know you cant in view template, match type, even as a selecte group, this is from memory, but i think you have to select each one.  i had a workaround though, which was lots faster. i created a detail component which acted as a its own crop box...  .  you create view, over extend its crop region, then insert crop detail component into view, size as desired then also if you really want to constrain to say walls of an enlarged plan, you can lock the different edges to components within the view.  an example of where i used this were the some 100 or so interior elevations we created for one project..


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 3:56:36 PM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#4

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Thanks guys, good advice all around, although I do tend to think that dropping-in and resizing a detail component in each view would be equallly as time consuming as just overriding each crop regions graphics. FYI, we're doing a massive number of interior elevations and are trying to find a simple, automatic way to show the heavy lineweight around each view. In a perfect world, perhaps we would be able to create a new subcatagory in the project object styles, select the desired lineweight and assign all the crop regions to that subcatagory. Or, if the crop regions were editable in the Visibility/Graphics Overrides we could modify the lineweights there and create a view tempelate from that. Maybe furture imporovements to the software?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 4:06:08 PM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#5

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Part of the reason that we used a detail component was because of my Architect's style, he prefers the "Frame" to include anything we are slicing through, thus we had the need for casework to show up.  And yes, it does seem tedious, but once you get into the swing of it, you can copy/paste and real quickly get them out there.  Less than ideal yes, but a work around never the less.  If all you need for the shape is a box, then overriding each one will be the quickest option, I recommend changing the color too... Just so that it is obvious that it has been done, this way you can see in revit if a viewport has been overriden or not. 

GL


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 28, 2011 at 11:35:02 PM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#6

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Great advice, thanks for the feedback!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 8, 2015 at 11:37:51 PM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#7

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Just wondering if there's been any progress on this issue in current revit versions ?

I'm using Revit 2015 & would also like to be able to change the lineweight of crop regions in internal elevations.

 

I've looked in VG and Object Styles but can't find anything thus far.

 

Thanks in advance


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 9, 2015 at 12:18:53 AM | raja15

#8

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Still no fix to this that I'm aware of. You can place the view on a sheet and control the crop region lineweight by manual override, which is a good solution for interior elevations. However, being able to control crop region lineweight by view template is still not possible 



Edited on: Wed, Apr 8, 2015 at 7:22:36 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 9, 2015 at 6:01:45 AM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#9

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


That's what I was afraid to hear.

Thanks for your feedback Smile


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 19, 2017 at 1:39:07 PM | Changing Lineweight of Crop Regions

#10

Schiette


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 12, 2009
11 Posts
No Rating


I've come across this issue today. Looks like there's still no way to preset it as of 2018.

There's a revit idea on it here: https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/revit-ideas/crop-region-line-styles/idi-p/6330724


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Macro for changing lineweight of crop region

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Jul 22, 2015 at 3:05:22 PM

2

Crop Regions can't crop imported images

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 7:25:13 AM

1

Irregular Crop regions (Revit 2008)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 28, 2008 at 6:00:04 PM

1

Crop Regions Disappear When I Assign a View Template

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 23, 2018 at 4:04:20 AM

6

dimension text un-movable when crop regions applied to a wall section?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 14, 2007 at 2:40:59 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1469417

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150619

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2252

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights