RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

187 Users Online (74 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Need Help Getting Started

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 25, 2011 at 10:36:36 PM | Need Help Getting Started

#1

ThunderViking


active
ThunderViking Avatar

Joined: Mon, Apr 25, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


Hi everybody!

 

My architecture teacher (and good friend) gave me a 3-yr. license for AutoDesk Architecture Revit 2011 a couple weeks ago, but the program is SO different from Better Homes & Gardens Home Designer software. I have almost no idea how to begin. All I could manage to do is create walls and a floor. I would really appreciate if someone could help me get started with using the program.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 26, 2011 at 1:55:54 AM | Need Help Getting Started

#2

nastyclown


active
nastyclown Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 14, 2009
273 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Watch the tutorials on autodesk page--> LINK , and watch the videos  from the blog the revit kid, --> link

Start watching those videos, come back to ask when you are in any trouble getting your design done


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 26, 2011 at 6:45:41 PM | Need Help Getting Started

#3

grid


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 26, 2011
25 Posts
No Rating


I agree with nastyclown. Watch some videos and search this forum if there are any issues that come up. The best way to learn the details of revit is to do a real project in it from start to finish. 


-----------------------------------

Palm Springs Architect using Revit LT!

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 12:31:30 AM | Need Help Getting Started

#4

tomdeplater


active
tomdeplater Avatar

Joined: Mon, Dec 20, 2010
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


ThunderViking,

 

I have made a 2 hour beginner tutorial set of videos for my Architecture school at University.  You can view them on my website.  They have a logical order and will give you a good sense of the program.  

Feel free to watch them and let me know if they helped you out.  Feedback is appreciated.

here is a link;

http://revittutorialsonline.com/?page_id=132


-----------------------------------

 

_tom

 

www.revittutorialsonline.com ::

 

 

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 12:42:47 AM | Need Help Getting Started

#5

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Use Revit in an actual (in your case, a project that will be graded) project that you really need to finish. This will motivate you to complete what you started. At first, you'll probably be tempted to go back to your old software. Don't! Revit has so many work-arounds that are not readily available but are there. Some are already posted here.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 1:18:10 AM | Need Help Getting Started

#6

tomdeplater


active
tomdeplater Avatar

Joined: Mon, Dec 20, 2010
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I disagree mhans..

Can you afford the time to learn a new architecture software while still putting the majority of effort into the design of your project?

FROM MY EXPERIENCE if you use revit on a 'real' project without any prior knowledge of it, it will be very hard to replicate your sketch design on the computer.  I had this problem in second year, and I put too much emphasis on learning revit in one of the semesters that my design suffered because I was restricted by my limited knowledge of the program.  thus revit was dictating my design output and creativity.

I guess what i'm saying is that there is much to learn from revit when throwing yourself in the deep end, but in a educational situation (i am in final year of masters at the moment), you need to decide where your focus should be. 

My advice is to learn revit before you put your skill in the program up for grading.


-----------------------------------

 

_tom

 

www.revittutorialsonline.com ::

 

 

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 27, 2011 at 1:44:39 PM | ThunderViking

#7

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting ThunderViking from 2011-04-25 17:36:36

"

Hi everybody!

 

My architecture teacher (and good friend) gave me a 3-yr. license for AutoDesk Architecture Revit 2011 a couple weeks ago, but the program is SO different from Better Homes & Gardens Home Designer software. I have almost no idea how to begin. All I could manage to do is create walls and a floor. I would really appreciate if someone could help me get started with using the program.

"

if your are a student you can download this software yourself from Autodesk Education Community website site. there is lot learning/tutorial information at this site also. your teacher can register you at this site or you can do it yourself. there is also tons, and tons, and tons, and tons of info on learning Revit. Why your teacher would give you this software i do not know, it violates the correct procedural process.


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 4, 2011 at 1:15:24 AM | Need Help Getting Started

#8

ThunderViking


active
ThunderViking Avatar

Joined: Mon, Apr 25, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


Thank you everyone! I really appreciate it. I'll take a look at those videos nastyclown and tomdeplater. Thanks! If I make it to UC, I got a year and a half to figure this out. Thanks again!


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 4, 2011 at 1:27:50 AM | Need Help Getting Started

#9

ThunderViking


active
ThunderViking Avatar

Joined: Mon, Apr 25, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


One more question. The walls for some odd reason set themselves up for two-story buildings. How can I change them for 1 story buildings and can I change the default?


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 4, 2011 at 1:40:02 AM | Need Help Getting Started

#10

Erev777


active
Erev777 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 24, 2010
4 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


For the 20' walls you pretty much have to change it at the very beginning. UNLESS , you make a new project template with the wall height set to your desired height.  


-----------------------------------

"My downfall raises me to infinte heights"- Napoleon Bonaparte

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit File at 20% and it HASNT Started Rendering Yet?!?!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 30, 2011 at 10:42:54 AM

10

Getting Started with the project and inserting Elevators

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 at 12:52:12 PM

7

Getting started with Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 6, 2014 at 1:55:15 PM

2

Newbie has started using Revit for 2 weeks, advise need...

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Feb 8, 2010 at 4:44:07 PM

2

Revit 2010 "Getting Started" Tutorial

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 4:58:04 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1781296

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151953

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4568

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights