RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

220 Users Online (107 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Point Cloud Density

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 19, 2011 at 3:12:26 AM | Point Cloud Density

#1

ant


active
ant Avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 17, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


Now that Revit 2012 can import point clouds we are keen to make use point clouds for existing buildings.

But a surveyor has asked what density we would like the point cloud to be.

Depending on the equipment used, densities up to 0.25mm seem possible. But surely this would create more points than are useful, and a HUGE file.

Accuracy seems to be around +/-5mm, so why would you require a higher density than that? But maybe a lower density is sufficent. 10mm?

Does anyone have any experience in using point clouds, and in particular what a suitable density might be.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 19, 2011 at 11:18:26 PM | Point Cloud Density

#2

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


You can't actually USE the point could to make geometry in revit, it's used as a reference to build atop/within.  So rougher data is probably fine.  If I were you, though, I'd ask for a more detailed version -- there are free programs available which can simplify a cloud at your discretion, to suit your needs.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 6:50:36 PM | Point Cloud Density

#3

tmassey


active
tmassey Avatar

Joined: Thu, May 19, 2011
167 Posts
No Rating


I was reading up on these posts and visiting the sites and I must say I am confused so I am looking for clarification. Why would you use a point cloud and not just create a 3d model. I know I am missing something here.

What is the point of a point cloud.

cheers


-----------------------------------

Using Revit Architecture 2012

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 7:14:39 PM | Point Cloud Density

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Well, a point cloud can be generated with 10 minutes of laser scanning, and everything it scans in accurate to a fraction of a inch up to hundreds of yards. 

 

The point cloud is not your final product, it's not even a surface.  it's like a ghosting of surfaces, so that as you build your real model, you can crosscheck with the point cloud data.  If you want to know the slope of a canopy roof, or the height of that roof at any point, or the topography, or the location of tree trunks on site, surrounding buildings, without pouring through tons of cad or other references... everything is in the point cloud scan. 

 

It is EXTREMELY powerful, but the downside is that getting a laser scanner is outside of most firm's budgets, and you'll have to hire someone to do the scans for you, which, well, might not be an option in itself, depending on where you live.   


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 7:38:40 PM | Point Cloud Density

#5

tmassey


active
tmassey Avatar

Joined: Thu, May 19, 2011
167 Posts
No Rating


If I am correct the point of this is to scan real objects to import them into Rev or CAD to create a 3D model or dwg.

e.g. I was renovating a turn of the century hotel..no know drawings. if the budget was there we could have scanned the building instead of hours of on site measurements and redrafting.

Is this what point cloud does?


-----------------------------------

Using Revit Architecture 2012

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 9:29:32 PM | Point Cloud Density

#6

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


yes--but instead of using a 3rd party app to turn the point cloud into a mass, it's probably easier to model the hotel with ordinary walls, windows, etc.  If your point cloud data is dense enough, such as the data you'd get from a scanner, then it'll be just as easy to interpret as a solid. 

 

I DO wish that revit would be able to create masses from clouds, for non-essential aspects of the scan, like the site!  and surrounding buildings not involved in construction or renovation. 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 24, 2011 at 8:27:48 AM | Point Cloud Density

#7

SteJa


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2011
4 Posts
No Rating


you gotta re-thin that laser scanning is not identical with classic surveying, becaus you have indiscreet points!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 24, 2011 at 1:01:20 PM | Point Cloud Density

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Point clouds are actually being used instead of classical surveying for a variety of uses and they can be very finite:

Here are some interesting sites: http://www.certainty3d.com/products/?gclid=CL_up9iDmqoCFQJrKgodkRGaww

http://www.xmeasures.com/?gclid=CIXK-I2EmqoCFYZrKgodkDomyQ

http://www.sparpointgroup.com/Blogs/Head-in-the-Point-Clouds/Using-laser-scanning-to-assess-tolerance-on-large-projects/

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Aug 14, 2011 at 2:23:44 PM | Point Cloud Density

#9

LaserscanningEurope


active

Joined: Fri, May 13, 2011
10 Posts
No Rating


We can suggest you to try the pointcab trial version to fix your isseus http://www.pointcab-software.com

 

we will present a new tutorial feed considering the initial post soon!


-----------------------------------

http://www.laserscanning-europe.com

http://www.laserscanning-service.com

http://www.pointcab-software.com/

http://youtube.com/laserscanningeurope

http://facebook.com/laserscanningtv

 

 

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2014 Point Cloud Benefits/limitations?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 24, 2013 at 1:00:13 PM

6

Point Cloud in Revit 2014 no longer working in Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 15, 2015 at 8:23:06 AM

2

Revit 2014 Point Cloud Plot Issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 1:44:48 PM

1

Point Cloud location

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 8, 2014 at 7:23:56 PM

6

Export the Point cloud file to Auto CAD with Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Apr 2, 2014 at 9:38:32 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1821199

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152005

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3078

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights