RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

224 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Understanding Revit Plotting

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Nov 14, 2005 at 9:22:03 PM | Understanding Revit Plotting

#1

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


I don't understand how Revit want's to handle plotting. I plot off site and would normally create plot files with the correct driver. It looks like Revit want's to use DWF, but my blueprinter is not familiar with DWF files. So I downloaded Revit PDF Writer 4.2 and sent PDF files. It worked, but I wasn't happy with the results. What's the best way for me to go. DWF's, PDF's, or should I be trying to generate PLT's? I also want to change the line weight on the titleblocks. Can't seem to do it, when editing the sheet family. I want more control over the fine tuning of the look of the sheet before sending it to the printer. Any tips are greatly appreciated.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 14, 2005 at 10:48:23 PM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


All your lineweights for the titleblock family are controlled in the families object styles. You can easily add new line styles to what you require. Settings->Object Styles I've never had success with creating PLT's from revit and generally use PDF's. The Revit PDF writer isn't a very good printer. I'd suggest using either Adobe Acrobat (full version) or CutePDF. HTH

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 14, 2005 at 11:53:59 PM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#3

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Mr Spot, you came through again. Object styles is what I was looking for. So your saying PDF's are the way to go for plotting. Is there any value in taking the time to learn more about DWF? Thanks again for the help.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 15, 2005 at 4:12:43 AM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


DWF's are a viable option given that you can batch plot to DWF from revit. So yes.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 15, 2005 at 6:54:04 AM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#5

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the advice.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 17, 2005 at 9:58:05 PM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#6

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


Cute PDF changed my fonts from Arial to Courier, and expanded the spacing. What's up with that? I thought there must be a control box for that in Revit, but Revit help says that Arial is the default font. Mr Spot, have you run into this problem before?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 17, 2005 at 10:01:56 PM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#7

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I don't know much about Cute pdf we use Adobe Acrobat. I just heard that this was perhaps the most effective free solution. I'd suggest looking in the print settings to see if you can find anything there. Otherwise look at another PDF solution. Perhaps PDF995, (jaws PDF is crap IMHO), (PDF Factory is crap IMHO), or research some others there are about 20 or so different ones available.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:55:47 PM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#8

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


What did you mean Revit PDF Writer isn't a very good printer (your first post below)? I'm plotting D size plots. I have "Primo PDF" I use for small prints. Did you mean Revit PDF Writer doesn't do small prints well? Thanks

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 18, 2005 at 2:25:27 AM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I mean the pinebush PDF writer (known as Revit PDF Writer 4.2) isn't a very good PDF creator to use, atleast from my experience. It has huge borders and i've had various issues with it.

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Nov 19, 2005 at 7:55:01 PM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#10

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


Okay thanks, I'll research pdf issue, or should I say the plotting issue. Maybe I should work with the blueprint service and see if their open to including DWF files in what they offer the community.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 25, 2005 at 3:10:19 AM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#11

poeta


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 18, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


Mr. Spot, as you use the Adobe PDF Writer to generate your drawings, what profile do you use to make things do faster? Have you created a new profile. I ask that because I am finishing my graduate work and I am using a lot of images and elevations in shade mode, also with shadows. So, as needed I "plot to file" using a raster process and trying to use DWF it goes wild (to much time to process, to plot and to open). Using PDF is safer, I think. Of course, not using the 1200dpi, instead I am running 300dpi... A0 size paper, all colored and so on... Any thing else, just ask. Thanx since now

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 25, 2005 at 7:36:18 AM | RE: Understanding Revit Plotting

#12

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I just use the default settings generally. I did one project where i upped it to max settings and ended up with a 150MB PDF file... Printing place loved that.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

plotting problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 22, 2004 at 9:44:51 PM

0

plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 6:14:56 PM

8

Plotting Shadows

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 18, 2009 at 12:54:48 AM

5

Plotting Revit Projects in AutoCAD 101

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 at 12:12:17 PM

1

Plotting PDF's

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 21, 2009 at 9:18:05 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1706709

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6376

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights