RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wall join options

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 23, 2011 at 10:31:00 PM | Wall join options

#1

fabioloretti


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 26, 2009
64 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Hi guys, how can I get my walls to always join like in situation number 2 in the picture attached? It is always joining like situation 1 and I have to pull them back out of the thicker wall, right-click, disallow join, extend it back to the thicker wall and join geometry manually. Thats very annoying!

Thanks. 



Attached Images

90154_Untitled.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 23, 2011 at 10:40:26 PM | Wall join options

#2

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Make the thicker wall 'Bearing and the thinner wall ' non-bearing.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 23, 2011 at 10:49:47 PM | Wall join options

#3

fabioloretti


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 26, 2009
64 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


It didn't work, mhans...

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:03:53 AM | Wall join options

#4

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Try Modify, 'Wall Joins', 'don't clean join'.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:11:11 AM | Wall join options

#5

fabioloretti


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 26, 2009
64 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


It ended up like this!

And its giving me just as much work as before...  :-( 



Attached Images

90163_Untitled2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:17:10 AM | Wall join options

#6

fabioloretti


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 26, 2009
64 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Hey, I think I did it! I found the solution!!

I went to the thick wall configuration and moved the its inner wall layer (layer 5) above the layer 4 so it doesn't wrap anymore!  :-)

The image shows how it was before the change. 



Attached Images

90164_Untitled3.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:23:42 AM | Wall join options

#7

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


you have to go into the construction of  your wall.  In the 1st instance, the core of the wall is joining to the core of another wall.  Click on your wall, choose type properties, then edit the construction.  Here is how that tool works, you choose a material, and assign it a function and thickness.  The thickness and material are no brainers, the function is a bit more complex.  notice you will see the core defined as "Structure[1]"  All we truly care about is the [1], this means that the core will cut through ALL layers to join with another core.  So, if we have a wall, which is made up of a [3], then a bit of a [2] and then the core is a [1], and we have another wall which is just a [2] and a [1], the following will happen, the core [1] will cut through to join, the [2] will cut through the [3] but not the [1], and since there is no [3] in one of the walls, the [3] will adjoin to the face of the [2] in the other wall.

 OK, so now that I've confused you, click on the vertical wall, edit its construction.  Look to see what the gray area is classified as.  Then switch to your horizontal wall, edit its construction and change the core to be the same thing as the other wall.

Warning, this might cause issues elsewhere, if you have a higher number in the core, then that means joins with other walls might not be correct.

 A simpler solution is to use your trim command, trim the horizontal walls to the FACE of the vertical wall, then join the elements together.  This isn't an automatic approach, but it isn't too tough either.

 Hope this all helps, plz ask for clarification where/when you need it, as I rushed this out and know it isn't the best explanation.

 

GL


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:24:39 AM | Wall join options

#8

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


LOL, i hit submit only to find you'd figured it out!

 


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:39:53 AM | Wall join options

#9

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


That may be a graphic fix but you just made your wall structure unrealistic. The Core should sandwich at least 1 structure. I think it's ok when you will not be working with Revit for structure analysis. Also, when you do a section or connection detail, you'll end up going back to the original wall configuration.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:40:11 AM | Wall join options

#10

fabioloretti


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 26, 2009
64 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


That was an awesome explanation! I understand now how the layer functions work. I played a bit with them and got exactly what I needed. Check the pic.

Thanks a lot, thetabest! You helped a lot with your quick explanation! 



Attached Images

90168_Untitled4.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:46:49 AM | Wall join options

#11

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


That may be a graphic fix but you just made your wall structure unrealistic. The Core should sandwich at least 1 structure. I think it's ok when you will not be working with Revit for structure analysis. Also, when you do a section or connection detail, you'll end up going back to the original wall configuration.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall Join Options Disappear [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 8:45:22 PM

26

Wall Join help - options not working [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 3:22:05 PM

16

Clean wall join

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 20, 2013 at 8:30:48 AM

11

90degree wall join

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 21, 2006 at 2:08:54 AM

10

WALL JOIN PROBLEM - Ends showing in 3D and Elevation View

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 22, 2008 at 2:38:24 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1651536

Objects:

22099

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8068

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights