RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

269 Users Online (126 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Mar 4, 2011 at 3:41:21 AM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#1

nklank


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 4, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


I've got a client who would like me to email him a copy of the model but he doesn't have revit.  Is there a way to export the revit model into sketchup 8 or some other free modeling software?  I tried a .dwf, dwg, and .fbx and none of these worked. 

 

Thanks a lot!

Nick


This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 4, 2011 at 9:39:41 AM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


If you export that in DWG I believe he can open that DWG in Sketchup

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 4, 2011 at 10:01:17 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#3

ErikCBAS


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 4, 2011
7 Posts
No Rating


Sketchup doesnt take .dwg unless I missed it.  If you do dwf there is a free viewer for it at http://usa.autodesk.com/design-review/

This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 5, 2011 at 12:28:51 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


"Sketchup doesnt take .dwg unless I missed it" - Just "IMPORT" and select "Dwg - Dxf" format

Attached Images

89548_SK1.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 2:37:27 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#5

ErikCBAS


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 4, 2011
7 Posts
No Rating


I have the current version and I dont show anything for importing .dwg. Am I missign something?

 

 

Edited on: Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 8:38:40 AMEdited on: Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 8:39:53 AMEdited on: Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 8:40:22 AMEdited on: Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 8:41:13 AM

Edited on: Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 10:31:42 AM

Attached Images

89603_Sketchup_picture.png

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 3:30:16 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#6

wheelergc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 9, 2007
62 Posts
No Rating


Look under import not open. 

-----------------------------------

I don't want to be interesting. I want to be good.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 3:42:38 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#7

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


i think you need a (free) plugin to import dwg into sketshup in the newer versions.

-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 3:53:27 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#8

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


If he's willing to install a new program Design Review is free from Autodesk. Then you can send him 3D or 2D DWFs.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 5:35:03 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#9

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


I prefer to export it as a 3D DWF file since it retains the revit model with all the elements and properties.

and you can use the sectional view (works kind of like section box in revit) to slice thru the model.

I think it give your client to see more than like a solid model.

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 8, 2012 at 10:54:56 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#10

kgallemore


active

Joined: Wed, May 30, 2012
4 Posts
No Rating


I know this is an old thread and I'm sure everyone knows by now that Sketchup FREE does not support and DWG or DXF file import. You must have the Pro version.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 9, 2012 at 4:18:31 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#11

sllana


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 2, 2011
106 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


You can pass your model to 3dmax and the sketchup does import 3dmaxes. Revit to 3dmax is made by exporting it to dwg (while in the 3d view) first.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 10, 2012 at 12:01:04 PM | Revit 2011 into Sketchup?

#12

broigutt


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 11, 2010
35 Posts
No Rating


You need to have Sketchup pro version to import .dwg files


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Sketchup to Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 26, 2015 at 3:41:27 PM

4

Sketchup model into Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jan 8, 2013 at 6:06:20 PM

3

SketchUp to Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Mar 22, 2009 at 11:53:33 PM

2

Sketchup To Revit Problems *Please Help*

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Mar 12, 2009 at 2:21:29 PM

1

A little SketchUp with your REVIT ? [ 1 2 3 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Apr 13, 2009 at 8:06:13 PM

34

Site Stats

Members:

1512059

Objects:

21251

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6379

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights