RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

157 Users Online (86 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Crop Region in Drafting View

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 5 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next >>

Tue, Nov 8, 2005 at 10:55:43 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#1

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Not sure why but Revit doesn't have crop regions for drafting views.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 24, 2008 at 3:27:06 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#2

NancyHKA


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 6, 2008
56 Posts
No Rating


I keep running into problems with this.  Really wish revit would update the new version to do this. 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 24, 2008 at 4:40:39 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


? ? ? This doesn't make sense.  You are talking about a drafting view.  What is there to crop?  There is no model elements. 

 

...... oh - did you mean you drew something too far (don't do that)  ....or you have an imported detail element that you don't want to show all of.  That's what masking regions and the breakline masking region is used for. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 25, 2008 at 5:38:22 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#4

bavery99


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 19, 2007
5 Posts
No Rating


I agree with the first 2 posts.

WWHub is correct to point out that masking regions can be used to "mask" unwanted portions of detail components in drafting views.

 

However, this has the undesirable side-effect of creating a drafting view with a over-sized (potentially vastly over-sized) pick box - ie the area that becomes highlighted when you roll over the view on a sheet.

 

This becomes annoying while trying to select the correct view. Not to mention the messiness that comes along with excessive masking regions in a view.

 

It's definitely not un-workable, but seems to me a crop region tool for drafting views would be quite beneficial.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 13, 2010 at 3:51:03 AM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#5

carlos72


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 7, 2009
8 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes




Attached Images

83248_masking_not_applied_to_text.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 13, 2010 at 12:27:40 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

Thread Post Kudo! #6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


carlos, Was there a purpose to your post?

This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 16, 2010 at 9:56:36 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#7

carlos72


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 7, 2009
8 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm sorry I don't know what happened to the text in previous post.

I think the logical solution would be the crop view.

 

The  hide  option didn't work for me because it didn't conceal the text and I had to make a second version of same detail after erasing what was not needed. Since this is a standard detail probably used in various projects,  I wouldn't want to have several versions of the same detail



Attached Images

83417_masking_not_applied_to_text.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 7:00:55 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#8

dfitzladdy


active

Joined: Tue, May 27, 2008
49 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Another reason that crop region for drafting views is that importing CAD files can create strange pick regions, as bavery99 pointed out.  Really its a legitimate wishlist item.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 7:12:28 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


You really should not import large DWG's and mask (or crop region them if it was available).  That would just overload the model.  Just clean up the CAD - better yet, revitize it, especially legacy details that you might use again.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 7:16:14 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#10

dfitzladdy


active

Joined: Tue, May 27, 2008
49 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Not a large DWG.  I've converted everything to Revit lines, and Revit text styles, and the view is still quite large.  Again, a crop region would be helpful.  This is a wishlist forum.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 9:09:40 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


Again, there is no need for a crop region. 

 

For those folks that have not figured this out, use a model view, it has a crop region.  If you then insist on having this as a drafting detail, use your "Freeze Drawing" add-in under the extensions manager.  That will crate a DWG of the cropped view and will import it into a new drafting view.  Now just delete your full import and model view.  DONE!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 5, 2012 at 7:46:34 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#12

MrDuncan


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 7, 2011
2 Posts
No Rating


The crop feature in drafting view is on my wishlist because I use detail components to help create my drafting views.  Without a crop view, the length of the compnent from the detail library dictates the size of my drawing.  This makes things like door jamb details larger than they really need to be unless I go back and re-draw everything on the screen with detail lines and regions.  A crop feature would be a timesaver for me.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 5, 2012 at 8:28:51 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


Did you read my post just above yours?  There are two solutions there.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 5, 2012 at 8:55:50 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#14

MrDuncan


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 7, 2011
2 Posts
No Rating


I read it.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 16, 2012 at 3:44:42 PM | Crop Region in Drafting View

#15

dfitzladdy


active

Joined: Tue, May 27, 2008
49 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


...and another reason for crop region for a drafting view - detail components.   


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 5 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Crop Regions Disappear When I Assign a View Template

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 23, 2018 at 4:04:20 AM

6

Crop Region

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 28, 2006 at 3:10:46 PM

0

Copy Crop Region (2011)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 4:44:37 PM

2

Viewport extents reaching far beyond crop region

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 8, 2008 at 10:38:05 AM

2

crop region visible

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 1, 2008 at 11:54:42 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1457371

Objects:

20594

Forum Posts:

150681

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9157

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights