RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

267 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Dimension Text Override

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>

Mon, Nov 7, 2005 at 10:16:36 PM | Dimension Text Override

#1

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Revit needs the option of overriding dimension text.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 1, 2005 at 6:09:47 PM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#2

heronn


active

Joined: Fri, May 13, 2005
11 Posts
No Rating


Nonsense, the whole idea is that you model what you want built, dimensions should be correct to begin with!

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 2, 2005 at 1:47:30 AM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#3

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


We have dimensions that cross breaklines in our details. We also have a number of detail dimensions that require text instead of an actual dimension (per schedule, per plan, varies, etc.) I guess it's a feature that could cause a lot of problems too.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2005 at 8:52:23 PM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#4

BS0450


active
BS0450 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 23, 2005
27 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I agree, I am having trouble with this at the moment too. When constructing a general detail that has variable paramiters such as pipe sizing it is very nice to be able to refer to a schedule. Anything if abused can be detramental to a project. Post edited on 2005-12-29 14:56:32

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2005 at 9:09:03 PM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#5

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


If you want to show the size of something as "see schedule" then it is really not a dimension, it is a piece of text. Personally in our office I am doing away with the "see schedule" nonsense as that is a hold over from the drafting days of the 1940's. Revit is a fully parametric realational database and should be used as such. It is not a "drafting" package and trying to use it as such is a complete waste of the power of Revit in my humble opinion. If you truely want to have a dimension looking thing that says "see schedule" then I would create an annotation family that accomplishes that task. I am firm in the camp that dimensions should never be able to be over-ridden. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 30, 2005 at 1:21:14 PM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#6

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


It is true that a dimension text override is unnecessary. You can always change the rounding of a given dimension value to increase or decrease accuracy. What is needed however is an annotation category similar to adding a leader to text, but in the form of a dimension line system. I used to use the dimension override function in Autocad simply to label the extents of an entity with text. An example would be to have the text : "EXTENTS OF EXISTING BUILDING" positioned over a dimension line. This is in affect an annotation, or label, and has no bearing on the scheduling or acurate dimension reporting. I have tried to set up an annotation family to perform this task, but I am yet to produce a decent result. If I do succeed, I will definately upload it.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 3, 2006 at 5:09:31 PM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#7

jontramos


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 11, 2005
43 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I believe that the best solution is to have an instance parameter in the dimension family that allows the user to turn off the visibility of the dimension number and then a text field becomes available. THEN, if you click on an object that has a "text" dimension, the true dimension re-appears so that you can flex/move the object, and when you click away the text re-appers. Therefore, the dimension has not been "fudged" just turned off with text in its place. I think that this solution would suit everone's needs.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 9, 2006 at 7:26:17 PM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#8

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


There is no dimension family is there?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 8, 2006 at 6:54:57 AM | RE:

#9

BOOGIE007


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 5, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


Quoting arccodex1 - 2006-02-09 13:26:17

"There is no dimension family is there?"




You can round up -+ 5mm or 10mm by using element properties after pick on dimension then go to edit/new then click on unit format then tick off Use Project settings then you can round up or down to nearest 5 or 10mm

Cheers

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 22, 2006 at 1:47:17 AM | RE: Dimension Text Override

#10

dbruck


active

Joined: Sat, May 20, 2006
7 Posts
No Rating


A couple of points: First, as a new Revit user, I can't seem to find a way to get the dimension text to match up with general text. I use general text with a .75 aspect ratio which I can achieve with general text, but the Dimension text doesn't seem to be able to be manipulated similarly. Is this true? Second, there are times when over-riding dimensions is extremely helpful. For example, sometimes I will want a wall constructed to a tolerance rather than a strict dimension, as for instance, a 44" min. clear exit width or 30" clr. toilet stall width within the constraints of an existing remodel. By over-riding the dim with a '44" min. clr.' note, I indicate that I care only that the min. clr. dim. is maintained. By leaving the actual dim, e.g. 45-1/8", an architect indicates that he intends 45-1/8", not just maintaining the 44" clr. which, IMO, is a completely different message.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 11, 2008 at 11:17:17 PM | Dimension Text Override

#11

missgayley


active
missgayley Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 22, 2007
36 Posts
No Rating


I have to vote in favor of dimension text overrides. 

To those of you that say that dimensions should never have the ability to be changes, as drawings in Revit should be accurate or that dimensions should be correct to begin with, I have to say this ~ the ability to round a dimension is essentially the same as an override.  It is scary how many times I've received drawings from architects' offices which lack accuracy due to rounding dimensions. I have actually heard "it doesn't matter, they can't build it that close" in response to accuracy questions. In short, those without care for accuracy will always have a way to achieve the "look" they want. Not allowing the dimension to have text overrides will never change that fact.

Therefore, give us dimension-noters what we want ;-)

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 12, 2008 at 12:05:18 AM | Dimension Text Override

#12

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


This family was quite easy to create and essentially allows you to imitate a dimension string for purposes of showing a text only dimension string such as Overall Building Width etc..

 Feel free to modify to suit your own needs.



-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Jan 12, 2008 at 1:11:18 AM | Dimension Text Override

#13

missgayley


active
missgayley Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 22, 2007
36 Posts
No Rating


Bless your stinkin' heart... I'm still VERY new to Revit - and it seems to be the little things that are currently driving me insane.

 

really, thank you!!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 7:03:17 PM | Dimension Text Override

#14

jjlangh


active
jjlangh Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 31, 2007
13 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


How do you use the Text Only Dimension String that Mr. Spot created? I can open it but can't get it loaded into my project...


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 7:14:21 PM | Dimension Text Override

#15

missgayley


active
missgayley Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 22, 2007
36 Posts
No Rating


i dont.... i ended up abandoning it myself ~ i've got in the "figure this out someday" pile.....  :-(

a coworker found a "blank" font somewhere on this site that we're using instead...    blank for the dimension, then we just write a line of text.

 

 



This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimension Text [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 2:15:07 PM

18

Dimension Override with numbers?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 9:29:50 PM

9

Dimension Override

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 8:26:16 PM

0

Dimension Override

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 12, 2006 at 8:17:15 PM

1

Overwriting Dimension with Text

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 11, 2007 at 5:13:56 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1692261

Objects:

22218

Forum Posts:

151748

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.8254

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights