RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

156 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Moving the entire model in one file to match the other file

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 11, 2011 at 4:30:59 PM | Moving the entire model in one file to match the other file

#1

diesellam


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 21, 2009
118 Posts
No Rating


Hi,
I have 2 different files.  One is for Architectural and one is for Structural.
Currently, the entire Strucutural model is about 5 feet off of the Architectural model.
What's the best way to move the entire Structural model to match the Architectural model?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 4:05:43 PM | Moving the entire model in one file to match the other file

#2

tomdeplater


active
tomdeplater Avatar

Joined: Mon, Dec 20, 2010
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


if you link the structural file into the architectural file, then you should be able to either in '3d view' or section select and move the whole model down.

 

after this you can bind the files together if you choose. 


-----------------------------------

 

_tom

 

www.revittutorialsonline.com ::

 

 

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 4:59:30 PM | Moving the entire model in one file to match the other file

#3

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


Open your structural file and acquire coordinates from the Arch link

this will but both files to the same 0,0,0 coord system

link any new files in using shared coordinates

always pin your links to avoind accidental movement of link files, at the bottom of your revit screen I suggest unchecking Press & Drag option...  That can be dangerouse tool.

If your models still don't line up, find a common base point such as a grid lind crossing and use ID point in your master model to get your coords and then open the linked model and use Specify at point to reassign the common point  in your other model to match coord point of your master model.

Sometimes, when links get moved or out of line it can be like a dog chasing its tail to realign the models but it is doable.

Moving links and/or models should be your last resort.


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude´╗┐

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 5:09:57 PM | Moving the entire model in one file to match the other file

#4

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


and I would suggest never moving a model, only move a link as a last resort.

My fingers got ahead of my brain...

 

I hope this helps


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude´╗┐

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 5:13:39 PM | Moving the entire model in one file to match the other file

#5

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


and I meant to say use Specify coordinates at point, not ID point

 

I am getting my Acad and Revit terms mixed up, sorry

 

where is the freaking edit button for this forum?

found the edit button, hidden uder the number....



Edited on: Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 11:14:20 AM

-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude´╗┐

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

nudging or moving the entire piping system upward vertically

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 20, 2011 at 12:26:15 PM

1

Moving Toposurface. Imported from AutoCAD file.

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, May 12, 2015 at 12:24:19 PM

1

Moving an entire plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 29, 2012 at 12:31:51 PM

1

Moving a linked Revit model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 9:57:59 PM

3

Importing a cad file

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 27, 2012 at 8:33:21 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1779163

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5288

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights