RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

220 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Dimension style with two different arrows

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 3:36:33 PM | Dimension style with two different arrows

#1

lmpleedap


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 27, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


When adding dimensions to a wall section, detail, etc. sometimes the dimesion will extend "out of bounds". The convention is to use a standard type of dimension arrowhead, tickmark, dot, etc. at the surface that is "in bounds" and then use an arrowhead at the other end to indicate some "out of bounds" constraint. I can only find options Revit to change the both dimension style arrowheads, whereas good ol' ACAD let you choose different arrows for arrow #1 and arrow #2. Is there a way in Revit 2009 to create a dimension type that uses two different arrowheads at either end?

I realize this may take some serious digging and involve extensive work to create a dimension style, but once we have it we can incorporate it into our office standards. 

many TIA.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 6:30:48 PM | Dimension style with two different arrows

#2

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Sorry, no. Revit only lets you pick one arrow.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Nov 14, 2015 at 1:54:01 AM | Dimension style with two different arrows

#3

lmpleedap


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 27, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


Now, many years later, has Revit made this an option with the newer releases?


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 16, 2015 at 1:25:12 PM | Dimension style with two different arrows

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Revit will not dimension to something that is not in view so this question is moot.   Learn to split the view window so the element is in view.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimension Arrows/Ticks/Dots

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:31:45 PM

1

Ordinate Dimension Style

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 3:12:14 PM

1

CREATING DIMENSION STYLE w-embedded text?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 6:42:38 PM

2

Prefix in dimension style

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Thu, Dec 16, 2010 at 3:15:11 PM

7

What controls Dimension style of inserted Labels?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 6, 2013 at 5:37:46 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1690610

Objects:

22215

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4136

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights