RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

197 Users Online (94 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:20:50 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#1

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


Hi there,

I've been building a baluster and railing for my staircase and it's all performing well (finally!) apart from when I set it to render last night it isn't taking on the 'iron black' properties that I gave it. Basically, I need it to render black, not grey which it seems to be doing.

It might look as though its because of the natural light in the render attached, but I've tried a few variations.  I've attached a context shot (line drawing), to show what it should look like, my failed render and the file that I need to adapt in case anyone wants to have a go. I'm keen to hear any and all advice!

Thanks so much

Edited on: Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 2:30:26 PM

Edited on: Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 2:30:51 PM

Attached Images

87634_SR_East_View_Staircase.jpg87634_staircase_detail.JPG

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:32:00 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#2

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Did u assign any material into the baluster inside the family editor?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:33:49 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#3

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


hi, yes i applied the material to the family i created before loading it into the main project. this worked for the railing, but unfortunately not for the baluster detail...

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:38:50 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#4

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


I looked at your baluster family and looks like there is a material assigned to it.

Now the other place you should check is that the same material you use in the project file is the same, once the material is loaded from the family into the project, you have to edit the material directly inside the project  because it will not get overwritten no matter how many times u loaded the edited material from the family.

HTH


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:45:22 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#5

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


BTW, how did you create your floor pattern adjacent to the staircase? is it done thru modeling or it is an image rendered inside of revit?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:45:32 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#6

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


Ah Ok, I always wondered that. Now, my only issue with assigning a material in the project is that the baluster detail and railing highlight as one object. So I'm guessing that when I assign a material to the baluster, the railing will also take on that material......I'll give it a crack though, thanks

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:54:18 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#7

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


That has also been a bit of a nightmare. Basically I had to create a custom pattern, and when I tried doing this on Revit with formulas etc etc it drove me crazy so I ended up creating individual tiles for each wood piece in the pattern. This is probably why my file is so large.....

If you have any ideas about how to do this without using the pattern tool in Revit too that would be awesome! So yes, done through modelling.....very slowly....


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 9:09:33 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#8

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


Hmmmm still not having much luck. Tried changing the material and doing a high render and see below for outcome...

I go: Manage>Materials>Metal (system)>Change the material to Metal (Iron Black)>Apply....



Attached Images

87647_Staircase.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 9:26:29 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#9

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


OK, CRB14,

I loaded your family into a test project and i noticed that that material didn't get assigned into the baluster.

What I would suggest is that... open the baluster inside the family editor, select the railing...from the properties dialog box you should see a small grey box on your right next to material. click on that and you will open a window that said associate family parameter... click new parameter... and give it a name (say railing material) and then ok..ok..

now go to your family editor and select the parameter you just created and assign the (black material) to your parameter. (in this case, i would change the name of the black material to other names like iron black or something, so that once you load it back to the project, revit recognize it as a new material) now that you have assigned a parameter with the material, try to load it back to the project and it should pick up the new changes.

 

HTH


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 9:32:09 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#10

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


Thanks so much this is great - I'm having difficulty figuring out what the family editor is you are referring to? Currently I can open just the baluster by itself, or I can click on the entire railing & baluster from within my project and go to the type Properties? But I don't think this is what you mean.....

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 9:42:15 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#11

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


I mean the baluster family by itself.

From the project, you should be able to locate the baluster family from the project browser under families....railing and find the one you made. then right click and select edit. Once you did, it will take you to family editor and following the steps from the previous post

 

Philip


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 9:50:53 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#12

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Try to load (the attached rfa file) back to your project.

hopes it should work

 

Philip



This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 10:28:51 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#13

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


Thanks so much this is great - I'm having difficulty figuring out what the family editor is you are referring to? Currently I can open just the baluster by itself, or I can click on the entire railing & baluster from within my project and go to the type Properties? But I don't think this is what you mean.....

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 10:37:33 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#14

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


Sorry, still having difficulty. When I select the baluster in the project, I'm struggling 'to locate the baluster family from the project browser under families'.Where do I find the 'families' tool...?

See attached image for the menu I get up when I click 'Edit Type'

Edited on: Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 4:42:01 PM



Edited on: Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 4:44:20 PM

Attached Images

87658_menu.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 10:52:18 PM | I"M HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING THE RENDER COLOUR OF MY BALUSTER/STAIRCASE

#15

CRB14


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 22, 2010
86 Posts
No Rating


Awesome! Sorry it took me a second till I saw the attachment you sent. Much much appreciated! See render for outcome....still annoyed I couldn't figure it out though! Champion, thank you

Attached Images

87659_Staircase_baluster_black.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Changing render colour of aluminium cladding

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 22, 2012 at 5:40:00 PM

7

shader and render colour problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:58:17 PM

0

Changing the Colour of a Material

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 16, 2012 at 9:21:06 PM

2

Baluster Placement

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 13, 2007 at 11:00:30 PM

0

Custon Baluster Design

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:24:23 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1461134

Objects:

20977

Forum Posts:

150931

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8077

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights