RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

190 Users Online (60 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Linestyle Display Issue

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 5:33:06 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#1

RogueMongoose


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 4, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


I am having a linestyle issue with 2 roof heights that I want to display on the same view. I change the views Bottom Primary Range to be below the lower roof and the Top Primary Range to be above the upper roof so it encompasses both levels. I have changed the model object linestyle to Dash Dot 3/16". It displayes correctly for the lower roof but not the upper roof. Also, neither bar joist levels are sloped as I have seen that cause display issues also. Any help would be appreciated.Revit Structure 2011, Windows 7-64bit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:12:57 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#2

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


1) Where is your Cut Plane set to for the View Range settigns?

2) How did you modify the model object linestyle? Object Styles? Lineworks Tool? Overide in view?

3) "bar joist levels are sloped..."as in the physical levels themselves? Would you define aToJ Bearing Level anda BoJ bearing level and run the joists from one level to the other?

 

See where we go from there.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:32:23 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#3

RogueMongoose


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 4, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


High Roof is at 18'-6". Low Roof is 10'-6". Cut plane is 1'-0" above High Roof, Top is 2'-0", Bottom is -10'-0", View Depth Level is -15'-0".

I modified the linestyle in the Model Object Styles.

 

The bar joists are flat. Same bearing elevation at each end.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:46:23 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#4

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


I see... *strokes chin thoughtfully*

 

Which sub/category did you modify in Object Styles dialog? What exactly are you trying to make dashed? The edge? Anything roof related?

I would try to rais the cut plane to something more like 4' above the high roof and the top just above that (if you can do that and maintain visual integrity of the view) and see if Revit jsut thinks the cut plane is too close.

 

RE: Bar joists. I guess I don't understand waht you are saying. You said that neihter of the bar joist levels are sloped. Were you wanting them to be sloped? What were you asking/pointing out with that? Was this just FYI?


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:54:53 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#5

RogueMongoose


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 4, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


Bar joists being flat was more of an FYI because I know if they are sloped it can affect the linestyle display. I will try moving the cut plane. I modified Web Joist under Structural Framing. I just want the bar joists to be represented as a dashed line in plan.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:58:15 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#6

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


AHHHhhh.. I thought you were referring to the roof *facepalm*

So the joists at lowere roof level were displaying ok, but the joists at high were not. I see now. Which sub/category did you modify in Object Styles dialog? Are the bar joists the same on both high and low roof?


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 1:10:35 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#7

RogueMongoose


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 4, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


Under the structural framing category i modified the Web Joist category. I modified the the linestyle to Dash Dot 3/16".

The lower roof displays fine but the upper does not. The lower roof is the 18k4 Revit Bar Joist Angle Web Family and the high roof is the 24k7 Revit Bar Joist Angle Web Family. Same family, different types.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 3:37:30 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#8

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


You are viewing this plan in Coarse detail mode? I just tried this and got dashed lines on both high and low level. Check my method and let me know if I did soemthing differently.

 

http://screencast.com/t/vsqtRVUqx

 

HTH.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 25, 2011 at 2:57:09 PM | Linestyle Display Issue

#9

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


How much difference in height was there between your level 2 and level 4 plans, in your video that you made? I watched it twice, but I didn't any place that shows how much actual height difference there was. RogueMongoose had 8'-0" of height difference when his display issues happened, I just want to make sure that you duplicated the senerio correctly.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

display edges and openings above the cutting plane in a dash dot dot linestyle

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 11, 2005 at 1:12:05 AM

1

Revit 2012 Elevation Display Issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 16, 2011 at 3:50:59 AM

3

ACAD linestyle into Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 30, 2010 at 3:09:33 PM

1

Foundation Lines and Color

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 3, 2019 at 8:00:31 PM

0

Display of Course Line types

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 14, 2010 at 12:11:12 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1633323

Objects:

22067

Forum Posts:

151655

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4589

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights