RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

292 Users Online (136 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 1:28:18 AM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#1

Chazbo


active

Joined: Sat, Jan 12, 2008
16 Posts
No Rating


Let's say I try to copy/monitor 4 walls (each of the same arch'l wall family) from arch'l to struct'l REVIT (2011).  In the options menu I instruct REVIT Structure to "Copy original Type".  Instead of REVIT Structure creating 4 walls of the same family type, it creates one family for each wall (4 families total) even though I started with one original arch'l wall family.  So four arch'l walls of a single family type F2e become four structural walls of family types F2e, F2e-1, F2e-2 and F2e-3.  What is the trick to get all 4 walls to be of one family type?  Thanks in advance.

-----------------------------------

Chuck George, George Structural Drafting, LLC - Orange, CA

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:32:39 PM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#2

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


This is interesting. I've worked with Copy/Monitor extensively and have not seen this happen. Do you get a dialog that informs you a type of that name already exists or that it is renaming the type to avoid conflict?

I'm going to have to test this out and see what I get for result.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:42:22 PM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#3

Mhill1976


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 27, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


The problem is that you're using the "Copy Original Type" in the copy/monitor options when you should be Transferring Project Standards of the wall types in the Arch file and matching those types in the copy/monitor options.  Once you do that, the walls will all come out as the same type.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:56:39 PM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#4

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


That is one way to do it Mhill, but the "Copy Original Type" is the prescribed workflow for this. Why would a structrual engineer want to bring in the wall types that are in the architectural model just for the one or two that they need?

 

Check this video and let me know what I'm doing differently from your work process:  http://screencast.com/t/ig6ELHfx

 

HTH.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 1:14:11 PM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#5

Mhill1976


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 27, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


The structural engineer doesn't need to bring in all of the wall types, but it is impossible to perform a Coordination Review with your prescribed method.  One can copy and paste from the Arch. only the wall types that are needed, but should never use Copy Original Type if they are planning on coordinating with another model, which Revit is intended for.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 2:51:08 PM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#6

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Um, not impossible. We do it all the time on every project in our office, and every office I've implemented in the past. Copy Original Type is exactly how coordination hapens across models. There is nothing tedious or hazardous to the model about this method and is almost a step by step recall of how the product's User Manual describes this workflow.

 

I'll submit that there are some situations where copy original is not ideal, for instance if the wall type in archtiectural is CMU w/ Furring and Gyp and all the structural engineer needs is the CMU, but Copy Original can still be used in this case and modify the wall type so that all walls of this type are reduced to CMU only. In your method, how exactly 

 

What exactly about this method makes it impossible to perform coordination reviews? Did you watch my video? Seems pretty plausible to me.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 6:42:07 PM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#7

Mhill1976


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 27, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


It's a pain to copy/monitor walls that way because it adds all of those families to your model.  If you actually choose the type that you are copy/monitoring instead of "Copy Original Type", then you don't get the numbered wall families.  Our firm doesn't even copy/monitor walls anymore because it's so cumbersome and you never get the result that you're looking for.  Chazbo's original question was how to not get the numbered walls and I provided the correct answer.

 

Although, I do like the reference to "The Princess Bride" in your signature.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 7:27:26 PM | Copy/Monitor Walls Creates Too Many Family Types (REVIT Structure 2011)

#8

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


The wall names in my video are because that's how they are named in the architectural. The point of my video is that Copy/Monitoring THE CORRECT way does not create duplicate wall types. The secondary point of the video was to confirm that that is indeed how they are doing copy/monitor to see if there's soemthing extra they are doing to get the duplicate wall types.

Chazbo asked "What is the trick to get all 4 walls to be of one family type?" and I provided a video with proof showing that correct copy/monitor does not result in dulpicate wall types each time you copy monitor.

In regards to your firm's practice, while that's one way to do it, it's far from more efficient. How do you get coordination alert? Do you use revit to automate the coordination? I'm assuming you do since you pointed out that Revit is intended for coordinating with revit. If so you'd have to manually pick each wall in your model and then tell revit which wall in the link it should monitor to. THAT is cumbersome.

Grinding the gears in a manual transmission may be more efficient since you leave out the step of using a clutch, but that doesn't make it the correct answer.

 

Thanks, I love that line Smile



Edited on: Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 1:28:47 PM

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Copy/ Monitor walls in 2011 or 2012

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 14, 2011 at 6:24:43 PM

0

best practice for copy/monitor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:07:02 PM

2

Copy/Monitor Deleted Element Revit 2011

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Aug 14, 2011 at 11:09:41 PM

0

Copy/Monitor walls

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 2, 2013 at 3:14:23 PM

2

Copying Arch Wall Types

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 14, 2012 at 2:18:26 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1512024

Objects:

21251

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.2665

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights