RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

177 Users Online (50 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Slab Edge with multiple layers

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jan 10, 2011 at 10:27:27 AM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#1

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

 

I have a building ground floor slab which comprises of 50mm Screed, 150mm Concrete, 50mm Sand, and 150mm Hardcore.

I have created a edge profile, as the slab thickens at the edge, but I cannot get this to represent more than one layer, if it prepresents the concrete it overlays all of the other layers.

Its very common to have slabs with edges made up from multiple layers - Can anyone point out to me what I am doing wrong?

Attached is a screen print of what I'm trying to acheive.

Cheers.



Attached Images

87111_Slab_Edge.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 5, 2011 at 8:33:39 AM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#2

ubi1


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 21, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


well i have a temerorry idea, it is to add multi edge slab profile, like adding the first profile as a step, then add another new one . heince you can add material to each one.. hope this works,

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 8:50:28 AM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#3

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


HI,

Thanks for your reply.

We did actually add multiple edges in the end, it works, but the its a little difficult to manage, plus you get some strange wide lines in when a section view is cut (though these are easy to change to thin lines again)


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 1:28:42 PM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I usually only model the slab edge by itself.  Then I edit cut profile for the remaining when necessary.  If you really need to model these, then I suggest you seperate into seperate slabs, each with their own profile.... but why?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 1:48:34 PM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#5

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


The reason I modelled them was so that the detail drawings which cover this area look correct.

Though I now think for the hassle of getting right its easier to just draw in 2D on the detail itself.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 2:43:48 PM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


If you have not yet learned to use edit cut profile, you are missing a powerful tool.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 2:53:58 PM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#7

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I'll have to look into that - I've not used it, but assumed it was for wall junctions, not slab edges...

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 8, 2011 at 1:54:37 PM | Slab Edge with multiple layers

#8

Blazarch


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 13, 2011
12 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I think that if you only want to show each layer on the section and details, you can nest a detail component family which shows each layer into the slab edge profile family.


-----------------------------------
Blazarch is a leading CAD drafting & BIM services provider in Shanghai, China. Blazarch assists global design professionals in design and drafting of architectural, structural, HVAC, electrical, plumbing and building information modeling. Visit http://blazarch.com/ for details.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

"Could not create Slab Edge"

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 7:40:42 PM

2

slab edge profiles

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 31, 2008 at 5:10:37 PM

2

RC upstand on the edge of an RC slab

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 14, 2011 at 4:04:56 PM

1

Revit 2010 Slab Edge Trouble

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 15, 2010 at 2:54:39 PM

7

Slab edge profile not available

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Nov 10, 2009 at 7:56:29 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1653741

Objects:

22109

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4510

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights