RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

207 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Wishlist - Multiple cut weights to walls

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 11:36:30 PM | Wishlist - Multiple cut weights to walls

#1

archiboi


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 27, 2010
21 Posts
No Rating


1. Multiple line weights to single wall types!  

I'm not sure about the USA but everywhere else in the world we use different line weights to differentiate materials: Timber - 0.35, concrete 0.5-0.7, lightweight cladding - 0.15 and so on... the idea that we are made to scour the plans with the LW tool overwriting line weights is crazy… please look at how Archicad approaches this.   


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 11:23:48 AM | Wishlist - Multiple cut weights to walls

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Revit is not Archicad (thank God), you can control and create all your line weights.

 



Attached Images

87053_wall1.png87053_wall2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 1:09:31 PM | Wishlist - Multiple cut weights to walls

#3

archiboi


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 27, 2010
21 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply mate... but again, not the level of control needed.What you've pointed out is a universal cut line overide, not an individual control. See the attached image... this is the most standard, commonly drawn wall in the world and I needed to use the Linework tool to create it correctly. I'm just saying that line weights and fill weights should allow further refinement through the Edit Assembly dialog box.Theres a preview right there... why cant we overwrite them there?

I know I shouldnt mention the 'A' word here but seriously, this is exactly what can be done in Archicad.

 

 



Attached Images

87061_Revit_Wall.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 3:03:45 PM | archiboi

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting archiboi from 2011-01-08 07:09:31

"

Thanks for the reply mate... but again, not the level of control needed.What you've pointed out is a universal cut line overide, not an individual control. See the attached image... this is the most standard, commonly drawn wall in the world and I needed to use the Linework tool to create it correctly. I'm just saying that line weights and fill weights should allow further refinement through the Edit Assembly dialog box.Theres a preview right there... why cant we overwrite them there?

I know I shouldnt mention the 'A' word here but seriously, this is exactly what can be done in Archicad.

 

 

"
may i ask why you are not using that program then? do the benefits of Revit outweight that option or are you forced to use Revit?

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 11:22:38 PM | Wishlist - Multiple cut weights to walls

#5

archiboi


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 27, 2010
21 Posts
No Rating


Haha i knew someone was gonna ask me that... simply, I prefer the Revit interface. Revit does have advantages over archicad, and vise versa... I'm not saying i like archicad, it is an amazingly indepth, complex program, but I just dont like using it. I just suggest archicad because the sollutions to the problems i've pointed out (see my other wishlist items), and more, are there, resolved. I'm just saying if revit did the things archicad could, on top of all the things revit can do but archi cant... well nothing could stand in Autodesk's way.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 9, 2011 at 4:48:15 AM | Wishlist - Multiple cut weights to walls

#6

nastyclown


active
nastyclown Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 14, 2009
273 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


yeah, well... maybe that graphic things that only care to architects maybe is a good improve to Revit  (like adding depth with gray lines in elevations and sections) ... but there is too much things you just cant do with archicad.

You cant do a fully customizable stair, rail, or "smart elements" (you can do it... but with a plugin)

You cant place real topographic information in archicad (you can with terra sumthing... another plugin)

You can import geometry from sketchup... but when you try to make it  walls, floors and roofs, its all choppy.

I give up on archicad for those main reasons...


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wishlist - Control over fill linewieghts

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 11:37:49 PM

0

Revit Structure Questions Line Weights

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 16, 2013 at 9:33:32 PM

1

Line weights & detailing 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 12:51:24 AM

7

how to cut MULTIPLE walls with a void?

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Sep 7, 2011 at 5:30:30 AM

5

Can Door/Window cut through multiple walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 1, 2012 at 6:45:26 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1513920

Objects:

21255

Forum Posts:

151245

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 8.6845

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights