RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

263 Users Online (130 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Cannot make design option primary

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 6:56:09 PM | Cannot make design option primary

#1

iamian33


active
iamian33 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 17, 2009
148 Posts
No Rating


RAC 2011 

Our central model has 6 Option Sets.  One particular set (BF Roof) has 3 options.  We have chosen to proceed with the 3rd option.  However we cannot make this option (or any other option) Primary ... Revit hangs-up at +/- 32% and we have to terminate the program. 

The central model is +/- 100mb.  It has been purged and audited. 

We are unable to delete the primary option.  We have tried to make duplicates of all 3 options but cannot make any other option Primary.  It is stuck ...

The only path I can come up with to overcome this issue is to duplicate the current Primary option (to preserve it), delete all the elements from the Primary option and then copy all the elements from the 'desired' option into the 'primary' option. 

Hopefully this will work ... but I'd prefer to not proceed in this manner. 

Is there another choice to correct this glitch?


-----------------------------------

Ian Shafer

Principal Consultant

True North S&F Consultants´╗┐

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 7:30:15 PM | Cannot make design option primary

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


Somewhere you must have some "crossed wires".

 

Do you really need to set it to primary.  In this case, I would just set your views to this option and contuinue with the project.


This user is online

 

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 7:41:53 PM | Cannot make design option primary

#3

iamian33


active
iamian33 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 17, 2009
148 Posts
No Rating


Yes, this option will likely become the current design for the project, so setting the design option for all the views will not be sufficient. 

I agree that there is likely a corruption in the current primary option. 

We have also discovered that we cannot copy elements from 1 design option to another.  Nor can we copy elements from a design option to the main model.  Fortunately we made an archive copy of the central model before we began this "exploration".  We are able to copy from the archive model to the current model (obviously) but I don't think that Autodesk had this in mind :o)

I've submitted a support request with Autodesk ... perhaps they might shed some light ... or realize that they have a glitch. 

still hoping for a solution ...


-----------------------------------

Ian Shafer

Principal Consultant

True North S&F Consultants´╗┐

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 8:08:04 PM | Cannot make design option primary

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


You can always copy from an option to the main model.   Justuse the copy to clipboard from the option, switch to the main model and paste it in.  You can do this between options and you can move elements from the main model to the options.  I don't know what you might be doing wrong.

 

You said "... setting the design option for all the views will not be sufficient. "  Since you can't make the secondary option primary, setting the views to the secondary option will work. I don't know what problems you have with this.  For our prototypes, we have multiple working drawings et up for the various options.  You can detail / schedule / tag everything in an option view just like the main items.


This user is online

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Issue with making a not primary option the primary Design Options Revit 9.0

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 10:52:15 PM

7

Design Option " MAKE PRIMARY" Toggle

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Mon, Jan 23, 2006 at 3:29:11 PM

0

Design Options cause Revit to crash

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 12:04:34 PM

10

Design Option view setting

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, May 17, 2014 at 1:02:11 AM

3

Accepting Primary Design Option Causes Fatal Error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 29, 2015 at 9:58:30 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1457190

Objects:

20593

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.4323

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights