RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

341 Users Online (158 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 4:32:42 PM | Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

#1

Daveybdab


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 30, 2010
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi there

 I am wondering where i can control the lineweight/colour of a steel column on plan when in coarse view. When in  coarse, if i have a concrete column and a steel column, changing colour and lineweight in the object styles only affects the concrete column, the steel column remains the same. When i switch to fine view the steel column and concrete column are both affected by the changes in object styles. SO how can i control the steel column when in coarse view.

 Thanks for your help


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 7:59:30 PM | Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

#2

kbeegles


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 23, 2010
28 Posts
No Rating


Sounds like the steel column is showing symbolically (with 2D lines) while the concrete column is showing the mass of the column itself.  Try adjusting the Stick Symbols subcategory under structural columns and see if that solves your problem.

-----------------------------------
The Leffler Group

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 10:20:04 PM | Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

#3

Witch


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 6, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


To change the line weight of only the steel columns you must set up filters. If you set up a filter for the steel columns. You have to set up this By Family name (if yo have more than one families you have to create filters for all). After this you can change the visibility graphics by filter to the color and line wight you want.

I hope this will be usefull.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 1:36:52 PM | Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

#4

Daveybdab


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 30, 2010
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for your help guys think this filter could be my answere. Couple of question though, is it possible to apply a filter to a project, rather than have to apply the same filter to each plan. Also is there a straight forward way to select the material to be the method of selecting the filter (rather than family name / type mark etc).

Thanks again for your help


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 1:45:05 PM | Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

#5

Witch


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 6, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


You can define the filter in your template and applay to all view you are creting. tjis way when you begin a project all the new views you create will be already applied.

There is no way to my knowlidge to apply to material since you have to apply by elemnt type (structural column, framing so on). If you have also steel beams and concrete beams on the same plan you will have to do the same thing. I know it is a pain but if you set up your template that is only one time for any project. If you already started the job just save your view where you set it up the filter and save it as a view template and apply it to the existing views.

I hope this will help.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 5:37:16 PM | Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

#6

Daveybdab


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 30, 2010
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks WITCH, really usefull. I have now created some filters in my template. Is thre a way i can automatically apply these filter to all the levels in my new drawing without having to go the the filters tab on graphics override (VV) and change each one manually.

Thanks again for your help


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 12:25:48 AM | Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

#7

Witch


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 6, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


The only way I know is that you create a view template of the plan where you created the filter and the VG overrides and then apply this to all the plans you want.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

transparent object in coarse view

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 8, 2010 at 6:00:41 PM

3

Aligning top of column to top of beams that are set out by bottom of steel

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 6:35:41 PM

1

Manage > Object Styles > Detail items

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 4, 2015 at 2:53:30 PM

0

Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 9:18:10 PM

6

Concrete pad footing moves with steel column

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 13, 2013 at 4:58:07 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1655396

Objects:

22113

Forum Posts:

151698

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7399

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights